Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
So far this cake is just what i am looking for! just right for my small family. The batter is excellent. I did not sift and it was still good. I will use less butter for the topping. I haven't taken it out of the oven yet but it was oozing over the batter. At this point if it comes out looking like a beast it will still be eaten tonight!!! This is a keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was very good, but -as much as I LOVE cinnamon- I would prefer a touch less of it. Also, I think it would be better with some crushed pineapple in the cake itself, instead of only having the pineapple as a topping. Will make again with a few minor changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Baked as directed and the resulting cake was a little dry and more crumbly than expected. Not as much pineapple taste as I would prefer. Next time, I will try it with some pineapple juice instead of all milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoTakeoutForMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is an extremely dull recipe and the cake was dull as well. Wish I had taken more time to select a recipe but I was in a hurry. That'll teach me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Just finished making this at my sister's request for her birthday. I don't eat pineapple upside down cake so I wasn't familiar with the baking process or what it was supposed to look like. After the fact, I now know there is WAY WAY WAY too much pineapple. I used less than 2 cups and it was still WAY too much for a 9 inch round cake pan. The toothpick came out clean, and the cake looked perfect from the oven. However, everything that seeped under the pineapple did not cook and it have a sloppy mess on my hands. The part of the cake that did cook was very yummy so I will try again tonight but I will only place maybe 4 or 5 rings AT MOST of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
WAY too much butter. If I make this again, I would cut the butter requirements in half. The cake was moist and the fresh pineapple was delicious (make sure to use a really ripe pineapple), but the overwhelming butter was just too much. I followed the recipe instructions exactly and was expecting a real WOW factor, which none of my family received. A disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
ohhhh myyy....that was delicious...best ive had and i love pineapple upside down cake...was even thinking if you leave out the pineapple this would be a killer upside down coffee cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiteford, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent, excellent, excellent! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! The recipe need to changes, just follow every step and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe was great! Although I did not have cherries, it was still just as good. This is a moist flavorful cake. I will be making it in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellbug

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have made this cake twice now and the original recipe came out dry so I added half a can of pineapple chunks in the cake mix and it came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife9184

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States