Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
What a delightful screw up this was! I followed the recipe pretty closely but added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. I also didn't cube the pineapple, I used the rings out of a can. I originally made just one batch but silly me didn't read the pan size and put it all together in a 9x12. So I made another batch to fill the pan up and baked a bit longer, more like an hour. I was completely ready for a disaster but to my surprise it was fantastic. Not dry, not too moist but just perfect. So double your recipe and stick it in a 9/12 to enjoy even more. Also give your mixing a lot of love. The batter is wonderful too. Lick your spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I think I solved the too dry/not sweet enough problems! Instead of the milk, I substituted the reserve juice from my skinned, cored pineapple bought at the store, which ended up being about 1/3 of a cup. To which I added a tablespoon of pomegranate juice and then topped it off to 1/2 cup using vanilla rum. It made the whole cake taste like a giant pina colada! Also, I accidentally used two sticks of butter instead of one in the batter. It resulted in a super moist cake that fell apart under my fork. Definitely not the right texture for a cake, but it certainly wasn't dry! So maybe adding an additional 2-3 tablespoons of butter would give just the right consistency? Or just reducing the flour by 1/4 cup, as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This Cake has great texture to it but it isn't sweet enough. I varied the receipe by replacing the milk with pineapple juice and Rum. Good Idea but not enough sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColesCookinMamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The only thing I can think of is that maybe people are using too much pineapple?? I used pineapple rings -- just enough to cover the top of the cake. And this thing turned out PERFECT. I honestly wouldn't change a thing about it. Even the topping was perfect. I liked that it was extra buttery and yummy. Have no fear, this is a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
good stuff... doughy..but ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this last year for my father (who lives in another state) who really enjoys pineapple upside down cake. Based upon previous versions I have tasted, I was not particularly fond of this cake. However, when I made this for my father, it was so moist and very flavorable that now I would eat this cake. My father enjoyed the cake so much, that he has requested that I make him one to bring to him when I come to visit I am going to make. Because I am such a stickler for using fresh products, I make this using fresh pineapple, preferable golden pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOLI1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
FIRSTLY I WAS AFRAID THAT THIS RECIPE WOULDNT COME OUT GOOD AFTER I READ SOME COMMENT OTHERS SAY ABOUT IT. BUT IT WAS SOOO GOOD AT LAST. I ENJOYED MAKING IT. EVERYONE LOVE IT. THE ONLY PROBLEM WID IT ; IT WAS A LITTLE OVER BAKED....BUT THAT WAS MY MISTAKE. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Great cake!! Much better the next two days! Thank you so much for sharing! It's going into my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. It is not quite as sweet as a traditional pineapple upside down cake but that is why we liked it so much. If you want it sweeter you can probably use pineapple juice instead of milk but I have never tried it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Turned out just fine, and tasted wonderful! I would recommend using a tad less butter and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States