Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was my first time ever making pineapple upside-down cake, and thanks to this recipe, it turned out great! I cut back on the butter for the topping by half, and I went ahead and melted it in the hot oven right in the pan, and then I went ahead and mixed the brown sugar into the melted butter. I used canned pineapple rings and put marachino cherries in the middles of the pineapple rings. Then I sprinkled a little bit of chopped pecans over that. I cut back on the salt just a tiny bit because I didn't have unsalted butter and didn't want it to come out too salty. Instead of milk, I used 3/4 cup of the reserved pineapple juice, which gave the cake wonderful flavor. I beat the batter real well between each step and the batter came out real nice. Oh, also I used cake four instead of all-purpose. Lastly, I only had an 8" round pan and I had a little extra batter, so I went ahead and prepared three custard cups just like the pan, and poured the rest of the batter in those. The cake was done in about 43 minutes, and the custard cups were done in about 32 minutes. I'm glad I put the custard cups in the other cake pan I had, because the the sugary, buttery topping came up out of the sides a little bit. This is so good! I can't wait to eat more of it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
What a delightful screw up this was! I followed the recipe pretty closely but added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. I also didn't cube the pineapple, I used the rings out of a can. I originally made just one batch but silly me didn't read the pan size and put it all together in a 9x12. So I made another batch to fill the pan up and baked a bit longer, more like an hour. I was completely ready for a disaster but to my surprise it was fantastic. Not dry, not too moist but just perfect. So double your recipe and stick it in a 9/12 to enjoy even more. Also give your mixing a lot of love. The batter is wonderful too. Lick your spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I think I solved the too dry/not sweet enough problems! Instead of the milk, I substituted the reserve juice from my skinned, cored pineapple bought at the store, which ended up being about 1/3 of a cup. To which I added a tablespoon of pomegranate juice and then topped it off to 1/2 cup using vanilla rum. It made the whole cake taste like a giant pina colada! Also, I accidentally used two sticks of butter instead of one in the batter. It resulted in a super moist cake that fell apart under my fork. Definitely not the right texture for a cake, but it certainly wasn't dry! So maybe adding an additional 2-3 tablespoons of butter would give just the right consistency? Or just reducing the flour by 1/4 cup, as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This Cake has great texture to it but it isn't sweet enough. I varied the receipe by replacing the milk with pineapple juice and Rum. Good Idea but not enough sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColesCookinMamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The only thing I can think of is that maybe people are using too much pineapple?? I used pineapple rings -- just enough to cover the top of the cake. And this thing turned out PERFECT. I honestly wouldn't change a thing about it. Even the topping was perfect. I liked that it was extra buttery and yummy. Have no fear, this is a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
good stuff... doughy..but ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this last year for my father (who lives in another state) who really enjoys pineapple upside down cake. Based upon previous versions I have tasted, I was not particularly fond of this cake. However, when I made this for my father, it was so moist and very flavorable that now I would eat this cake. My father enjoyed the cake so much, that he has requested that I make him one to bring to him when I come to visit I am going to make. Because I am such a stickler for using fresh products, I make this using fresh pineapple, preferable golden pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOLI1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
FIRSTLY I WAS AFRAID THAT THIS RECIPE WOULDNT COME OUT GOOD AFTER I READ SOME COMMENT OTHERS SAY ABOUT IT. BUT IT WAS SOOO GOOD AT LAST. I ENJOYED MAKING IT. EVERYONE LOVE IT. THE ONLY PROBLEM WID IT ; IT WAS A LITTLE OVER BAKED....BUT THAT WAS MY MISTAKE. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Great cake!! Much better the next two days! Thank you so much for sharing! It's going into my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. It is not quite as sweet as a traditional pineapple upside down cake but that is why we liked it so much. If you want it sweeter you can probably use pineapple juice instead of milk but I have never tried it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States