Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Really great recipe. I added a tablespoon of molasses in the topping and 1 1/2t of almond extract in the cake. Perfect, very moist. Pineapples didn't shrink. I wouldn't leave anything out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A really nice recipe. Definitely a keeper!!! I pretty much follwed the directions. Reading the previous suggestions, I thought I'll reduce the quantity of flower by 1/4 cup, but when I reached there, I felt the batter too liquidy, so I put the entire quantity in. It was not too dry. I used fresh pinapple. I think the trick is to use fresh, juicy pineapples.. for the juice will seep down into the cake and make it very moist. I had cut the pineapple early in the morning and put it in the fridge. I made the cake only some 4 hours later. So a little juice had collected at the bottom of the pan (abt 2 tsp)wich I added to the batter. But I don't think that would have made a difference to the moistness of the cake. I also added about 2 tsp of cinnamon. It added a wonderful flavour to the cake. I was scared whether I'll have any sticky problems, for I used a normal rectangle mold, but it came out very easily. All in all a wonderful recipe. I brought the leftover pieces from dinner to work today and it disappeared like the proverbial hot cakes :) I have got requests to make it for out next party.. :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This sounds like a similar recipe I saw on Good Morning America years ago. I've been making it for years and it's terrific! I use canned pineapple rings, dried very well, and make sure the butter mixture is a good consistency (I don't melt it all the way) before spreading it in the pan--that way it bakes into an almost crunchy topping for the cake. When serving, I place a few pansies in the middle and serve it warm with vanilla ice cream. It's a gorgeous, delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made this in a 9x13 pan and I was a bit nervous that the batter was spread too thin. But I lessened the baking time to 20 minutes and it came out perfect. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I loved this recipe! It was my first attempt at pineapple upside down cake but it came out AMAZING - moist, tender and not to sweet (I am a diabetic so I actually prefer that!). I did review the notes beforehand and think perhaps next time I will use some of the pineapple juice in place of the milk and perhaps up a the cinnamon a bit but it was really good. We served it fresh from the oven with vanilla bean ice cream. Thanks for sharing such a fabulously simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWYNNWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I have lost my pineapple upside down cake recipe and have been looking for one to replace it. While this one was ok, I think I will continue searching. I added pineapple juice to the batter to make it sweeter. It came out kind of doughy. Overall, ok but I think there's better out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I made this last night and attempted it with a bag of frozen pineapple chunks that were wet - and it worked just fine. The cake turned out fabulous! I would defintely make this recipe again. I did use honey in place of the brown sugar and will try Splendia for the white sugar next time. Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ServingMom4Him

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was my first time ever making pineapple upside-down cake, and thanks to this recipe, it turned out great! I cut back on the butter for the topping by half, and I went ahead and melted it in the hot oven right in the pan, and then I went ahead and mixed the brown sugar into the melted butter. I used canned pineapple rings and put marachino cherries in the middles of the pineapple rings. Then I sprinkled a little bit of chopped pecans over that. I cut back on the salt just a tiny bit because I didn't have unsalted butter and didn't want it to come out too salty. Instead of milk, I used 3/4 cup of the reserved pineapple juice, which gave the cake wonderful flavor. I beat the batter real well between each step and the batter came out real nice. Oh, also I used cake four instead of all-purpose. Lastly, I only had an 8" round pan and I had a little extra batter, so I went ahead and prepared three custard cups just like the pan, and poured the rest of the batter in those. The cake was done in about 43 minutes, and the custard cups were done in about 32 minutes. I'm glad I put the custard cups in the other cake pan I had, because the the sugary, buttery topping came up out of the sides a little bit. This is so good! I can't wait to eat more of it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
What a delightful screw up this was! I followed the recipe pretty closely but added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. I also didn't cube the pineapple, I used the rings out of a can. I originally made just one batch but silly me didn't read the pan size and put it all together in a 9x12. So I made another batch to fill the pan up and baked a bit longer, more like an hour. I was completely ready for a disaster but to my surprise it was fantastic. Not dry, not too moist but just perfect. So double your recipe and stick it in a 9/12 to enjoy even more. Also give your mixing a lot of love. The batter is wonderful too. Lick your spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I think I solved the too dry/not sweet enough problems! Instead of the milk, I substituted the reserve juice from my skinned, cored pineapple bought at the store, which ended up being about 1/3 of a cup. To which I added a tablespoon of pomegranate juice and then topped it off to 1/2 cup using vanilla rum. It made the whole cake taste like a giant pina colada! Also, I accidentally used two sticks of butter instead of one in the batter. It resulted in a super moist cake that fell apart under my fork. Definitely not the right texture for a cake, but it certainly wasn't dry! So maybe adding an additional 2-3 tablespoons of butter would give just the right consistency? Or just reducing the flour by 1/4 cup, as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States