Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
My cake came out perfect. This was a very easy recipe with great results. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrHappy1353
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as posted. I used a 9 inch round baking pan. Overall, a good recipe. The only thing that was missing was a moister cake. I didn't have any pineapple juice to add to the batter in place of some of the milk but I will make sure I have some on hand next time. The family really liked it and I will be making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrHappy1353

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frontenac, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Very Good!! I would add another teaspoon of spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlken53

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Really great recipe. I added a tablespoon of molasses in the topping and 1 1/2t of almond extract in the cake. Perfect, very moist. Pineapples didn't shrink. I wouldn't leave anything out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A really nice recipe. Definitely a keeper!!! I pretty much follwed the directions. Reading the previous suggestions, I thought I'll reduce the quantity of flower by 1/4 cup, but when I reached there, I felt the batter too liquidy, so I put the entire quantity in. It was not too dry. I used fresh pinapple. I think the trick is to use fresh, juicy pineapples.. for the juice will seep down into the cake and make it very moist. I had cut the pineapple early in the morning and put it in the fridge. I made the cake only some 4 hours later. So a little juice had collected at the bottom of the pan (abt 2 tsp)wich I added to the batter. But I don't think that would have made a difference to the moistness of the cake. I also added about 2 tsp of cinnamon. It added a wonderful flavour to the cake. I was scared whether I'll have any sticky problems, for I used a normal rectangle mold, but it came out very easily. All in all a wonderful recipe. I brought the leftover pieces from dinner to work today and it disappeared like the proverbial hot cakes :) I have got requests to make it for out next party.. :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This sounds like a similar recipe I saw on Good Morning America years ago. I've been making it for years and it's terrific! I use canned pineapple rings, dried very well, and make sure the butter mixture is a good consistency (I don't melt it all the way) before spreading it in the pan--that way it bakes into an almost crunchy topping for the cake. When serving, I place a few pansies in the middle and serve it warm with vanilla ice cream. It's a gorgeous, delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made this in a 9x13 pan and I was a bit nervous that the batter was spread too thin. But I lessened the baking time to 20 minutes and it came out perfect. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I loved this recipe! It was my first attempt at pineapple upside down cake but it came out AMAZING - moist, tender and not to sweet (I am a diabetic so I actually prefer that!). I did review the notes beforehand and think perhaps next time I will use some of the pineapple juice in place of the milk and perhaps up a the cinnamon a bit but it was really good. We served it fresh from the oven with vanilla bean ice cream. Thanks for sharing such a fabulously simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWYNNWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I have lost my pineapple upside down cake recipe and have been looking for one to replace it. While this one was ok, I think I will continue searching. I added pineapple juice to the batter to make it sweeter. It came out kind of doughy. Overall, ok but I think there's better out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I made this last night and attempted it with a bag of frozen pineapple chunks that were wet - and it worked just fine. The cake turned out fabulous! I would defintely make this recipe again. I did use honey in place of the brown sugar and will try Splendia for the white sugar next time. Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hall Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States