Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
this is a favorite of mine. i havent reviewed it before because i kept waiting for some of the problems other people spoke of to happen so i could see maybe what is going on and i might be able to help. i have made this recipe a good half a dozen times at least and well, i havent had a problem yet. it's moist, tastes even better the next day, always comes right out of the pan, i do butter the pan well....great recipe. and i really love using fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Flavor was good but the consistency was doughy. I followed the recipe except reducing the but for the brown sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was yummy! I'll most likely make this again, but I'll cut down on the butter in the brown sugar/butter mixture. I used pineapple rings with maraschino cherried in the middle. My two little girls helped me make this and we cooked it in a heart shaped pan! Lots of fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe. I wanted to make a cake for dessert tonight but I didn't have a cake mix. I like that it doesnt use cake flour because that is something I usually don't keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
My cake came out perfect. This was a very easy recipe with great results. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrHappy1353
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as posted. I used a 9 inch round baking pan. Overall, a good recipe. The only thing that was missing was a moister cake. I didn't have any pineapple juice to add to the batter in place of some of the milk but I will make sure I have some on hand next time. The family really liked it and I will be making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrHappy1353

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frontenac, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Very Good!! I would add another teaspoon of spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlken53

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Really great recipe. I added a tablespoon of molasses in the topping and 1 1/2t of almond extract in the cake. Perfect, very moist. Pineapples didn't shrink. I wouldn't leave anything out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A really nice recipe. Definitely a keeper!!! I pretty much follwed the directions. Reading the previous suggestions, I thought I'll reduce the quantity of flower by 1/4 cup, but when I reached there, I felt the batter too liquidy, so I put the entire quantity in. It was not too dry. I used fresh pinapple. I think the trick is to use fresh, juicy pineapples.. for the juice will seep down into the cake and make it very moist. I had cut the pineapple early in the morning and put it in the fridge. I made the cake only some 4 hours later. So a little juice had collected at the bottom of the pan (abt 2 tsp)wich I added to the batter. But I don't think that would have made a difference to the moistness of the cake. I also added about 2 tsp of cinnamon. It added a wonderful flavour to the cake. I was scared whether I'll have any sticky problems, for I used a normal rectangle mold, but it came out very easily. All in all a wonderful recipe. I brought the leftover pieces from dinner to work today and it disappeared like the proverbial hot cakes :) I have got requests to make it for out next party.. :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This sounds like a similar recipe I saw on Good Morning America years ago. I've been making it for years and it's terrific! I use canned pineapple rings, dried very well, and make sure the butter mixture is a good consistency (I don't melt it all the way) before spreading it in the pan--that way it bakes into an almost crunchy topping for the cake. When serving, I place a few pansies in the middle and serve it warm with vanilla ice cream. It's a gorgeous, delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States