Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Different from the other pineapple upside down cakes I've had before, but I can't point out what it is. Mine didn't turn out very pretty, but it was delicious. The brown sugar syrup surfaced to the top while baking, but didn't overflow. It glazed over the cake, giving it a nice caramel flavor. The texture was a little funny, but I'll make this again and update this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I too found the topping soggy but it did not detract from the wonderful taste. I have never made a pineapple cake with it made in chunks but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by echosunshine
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I had no pineapple, but wanted to use up some frozen rasberries, so I substituted! The cake turned out so well, just a little funny looking. It was delicious! It was not as sweet as it would have been with pineapple, but the raspberries were nicely tart. I will try this recipe again with pineapple, as I found the cake to have great flavour and texture. The hint of cinnamon was good, even though I don't usually like cinnamon in my baked goods. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This is the first Pineapple Upside Down Cake I've made. I really thought it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marvelous
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Turned out perfect, nice and gooey and perfectly sweet. Other people mentioned problems with butter and terrible turnout, but I followed the recipe exactly, only adding the cherries, and it turned out wonderful. Don't know what everyone else is talking about! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvelous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is so so so good, I have made this cake at least 5 times. Best cold out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
way to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svetka69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
this cake turned out really light and fluffy..with a great crust from the brown sugar..this was my first attempt at baking a pineapple upside down cake..and i was very pleased... my cake stuck to the sides a bit..so when i flipped it out..it didn't look as nice.but it taste wonderful! i just sliced the cake up and no one knew it flipped out horribly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luuvely

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mendenhall, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was the first time making an upside down cake and I thought it was Yummy! I did make changes only due to I try not to use dairy and eggs too much. So instead of milk I used soymilk and pineapple juice. I used Ener G egg replacer and Earth Balance for the butter. Was not too dry doing it this way. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This cake worked out really well and i liked using a fresh pineapple instead of one from a can like all the other recipes asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States