Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was so good warm from the oven. It would be really great with fresh pineapple, however all I had on hand was pineapple rings which I did not pat dry, and I stirred the butter and brown sugar in the cake pan as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
baked a pineapple upside down cake before but this one is definitely the best so far...my family loved it...I will be using this one for sure from now on, I made a little change, I added 1/4 cup of reserved pineapple juice and a cup of milk instead of the 1 1/4 milk it called for and didn't bother cutting the cherries in half...the cake didn't last the night, it disappeared that quick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Delicious! Doubled the recipe and baked in a glass 9x13, for about one hour. Used canned pineapple rings as well, only needed one can. The topping around the pineapple was great and definately what was missing out of the last recipe for this I tried. Thanks a bunch for the recipe, exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
If I do this again I would omit at least 1/2 the butter for the topping if not all together. Wasn't thrilled with the cinnamon in the cake itself. Next time I'll just do a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent cake. Made as directed and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. The cake turned out beautifully; however, th cake itself seemed dry and and in need of more flavor. I don't believe I will repeat this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I love this recipe- I always make it in little ramekins so everyone in the family gets their very own cake. This is the only cake my 4 year old will eat. I don't dry the pineappe and I do mix in some pineapple juice with the milk and it is always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The proportion for the brown sugar was way off in my opinion. And the middle of the cake didn't seem to want to cook all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slitherymoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My review may increase to 5 stars after trying a second attempt. My first attempt was made using a spring-form pan... WARNING: check if your spring-form pan is water-tight before using! There is a lot of butter in pan, and it melts into a thin liquid that can leak out of a small opening. Luckily I noticed the sound of butter spattering on the bottom of my oven and was quickly able to slide a pan underneath to catch all that butter! I'm sure the cake would have turned out more buttery and tastier had it not leaked out. I will give this another try in a regular pan... I think I will have improved results. This first attempt has already turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
i cut the recipe in half bc i was just using a small loaf pan to do a test run and it was soooo good. i'm no baker by any means so i was pleasantly surprised. it was the best i've ever tasted, very very moist & delicious. I have to say though, there are like 7 one star reviews out of about 80, so that leads me to believe they are just not doing it right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States