Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I can't tell you how good it was because my husband ate the entire cake in 2 sittings! It must have been good! I had to double the recipe because the cake pan I had was bigger than 6" (mine was 9") and the original recipe did not yield much batter. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned and had enough juice from the pineapple to include it in the recipe. I just let the sliced pineapple sit in a bowl for a bit and the juices settled at the bottom. Very easy and tasty recipe, and I am not fond of baking, but I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
made according to the recipe, I found that it needed more brown sugar, more butter, more allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I really enjoy pineapple upside-down cake. Thanks to my hubby, we always use a fresh pineapple. He cuts the pineapple head off and cores with a gadget that twists down through the pineapple. I wouldn't have the strength to cut the pineapple on my own. Fresh pineapple is much better than canned! I like this recipe because I can make just enough for hubby and me using one round cake pan. Many other recipes require two round cake pans or a big rectangle pan. The reason I gave four stars is the batter is a bit dry for my taste. I'd prefer adding more oil or butter or maybe even pineapple juice to moisten the batter. Having said that, I've made this recipe multiple times. Thanks, Edna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Sort of bummed all around with this recipe. It's flavor is more bread like than cake like. Very small yield. Hardly rose. Not sure I'll try this recipe again but I did love the butter and brown sugar base and the addition of pecans,lovely touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was a great, simple recipe. I doubled it and used my cast iron skillet. It came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was more bready than cakey (think Banana bread) and the allspice was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Perfect and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAISYTAZZY
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My husband wanted pineapple upside-down cake as his birthday cake this year. I had never made one before, and I found this recipe. I purchased a 12 in cast iron skillet and tripled the recipe. It was perfect!!! Soooo good!!! 13 people were at the party and they all really enjoyed it. Loved the addition of pecans. Will definitely make again!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I tripled the recipe, baked in my huge chicken fryer cast iron skillet.. and left out the pecans..... this cake is divine :D everyone loves it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
i love making this in my iorn skillet too! too easy and just down right GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherylDean420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States