Pineapple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed the recommendations and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and baked the first half hour with the dish covered. It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this as a side dish for the "Rosemary-Scented Pork Loin Stuffed with Roasted Garlic, Dried Apricots and Cranberries and Port Wine Pan Sauce" for Christmas. It was a hit. As previously mentioned, I cut the sugar in half and doubled the recipe adding 1 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and 1 20 oz can of chunk pineapple. I used 10 slices from a loaf of somewhat coarse oatmeal bread. I baked it in two 8-in square pans to try to decrease cooking time. I haven't tried freezing it, but will again double the recipe next time and try to freeze half for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My kids and everyone I've ever made it for loves it. My 12 year makes it now too. She added a little vanilla and some cinnamon now that's the way we eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It needs ciabatta bread! Not white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Made this for thanksgiving. It was a huge hit! Used half the sugar and it was plenty! Put it in 8x8 pan. Used probably about 10 pieces of bread. And as baking the juices started to puddle.. So I broke up some more pieces of bread and stuck them in there as it was baking to soak up the rest of the juice! It worked great! I highly recommend this! Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is a hit everytime I make it! I did cut the sugar down to 1/2 a cup, added a splash of vanilla and a sprinkle of cinnamon. For portion control, i baked this a cupcake pan for 30 -35 minutes. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Yummy. A real hit. Like most others, I used only 1/2 cup sugar. In making it ahead of time and refrigerating before baking, I found it required less baking time (about 45 minutes), perhaps because the bread absorbed more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is really a 5-star recipe, but it does need a bit of "tweaking" to get it there. It's a good foundation for a number of great variations. Making it as-is results in a very sweet dish that more closely resembles a dessert. I'd recommend reducing the sugar to 3/4 or 1/2 cup for good stuffing. In an effort to get rid of some random foods in my fridge, I chose go it more in the direction of a casserole by reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup and adding cubed ham and sautéed onions. I was skeptical, having varied from the recipe, but I am shocked at how amazing this turned out. Adding the savory ingredients counter-balanced the sweetness. By far one of the best dishes I have ever made. Little variations will suit a number of different tastes. I didn't have any canned pineapple but I did have a lot of leftover fresh dices so I just put them in a bag and mashed them with a meat mallet. With a little work, this dish is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I had never heard of this until I started dating my current boyfriend and his mom made it for Thanksgiving. I didn't care if I had anything else on my plate--all I wanted was this stuffing. No turkey, no potatoes, no green beans, no gravy, just this stuffing. That was five Thanksgivings ago and I've since introduced it to my side of the family as well. It was really just a ploy to get to eat it four times a year (both families make it at Easter too, since it goes GREAT with ham). Some people have complained that it's too sweet, and it IS really sweet. I like it just fine anyway, but if your group doesn't love sweet stuff, just cut down. This recipe is so un-fussy that you can make alterations without worrying about how it will affect the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicakat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
OMG! This is a huge hit at my house! The recipe is perfect as is! Thanks BB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Old-Fashioned Cracker Stuffing

See how to make an old-fashioned dressing or stuffing with saltine crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States