Pineapple Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I folded about 1-1/3 cup of drained crushed pineapple from a can along with the eggwhites into the batter, used lemon extract instead of the juice, and halved the amount of pineapple juice which was some of the juice from the can. Turned out exactly as a spongecake should. Don't be afraid of greasing the pan, if your pan isn't brand new chances are it might stick because the non-stick coating isn't intact. Garnished with a little double cream cheese frosting and maraschino cherries as suggested, made a lovely tea time cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fakeymcfake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It was very yummy. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I agree with first poster it does fall apart, it turns out very crumbly... not very presentable. Taste was indeed good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Lovely twist for a spong cake. For those that had difficulty getting out of the pan here are a few tips: make sure that pan is absolutely grease free and do not try to remove until cold. Hope this works for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This turned out very good. Nice and light. I added crushed pineapple to the bottom of the pan before adding the batter. This kept the cake from sticking to the top and made it easier to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I didn't like this cake, taste wise or the method...I think the pan needs to be greased. Mine came apart trying to get it out of the pan. The taste was a bit like a store-bought sponge cake. We put fresh pineapple, whipped cream, and cherries on it and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe baked up sooooo light and fluffy, and I had no trouble taking it out of the pan. However, it was too sweet for my taste, and I can't quite taste the pineapple. It tasted like a sweet regular sponge cake. Next time I would use 1 cup of sugar, and added more pineapple juice. 5 star for texture and 4 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
it is delicious. but what i did, was when i got the cake out of the oven and waited for it to cool down, i soaked it briefly (5 mins) in pineapple juice. it was delicious. YUUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States