Pineapple Shrimp Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this today and it was delicious. I did do as mentioned to make a sweet and sour sauce. The one thing I should not have done is add the entire 20oz. can of pineapple. Just a bit to much pineapple. Other than that made as directed. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. It is a bit bland so I added come cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. I only had chicken on hand so added that instead of ham. I read another suggestion of adding green onions, that sounds like it would be a fantastic idea. This will be a recipe that I hang on to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I was skeptical to make this because it sounded so different from things we usually eat, but it was delicious. The flavors tied together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
The recipe was great, but I used frozen stir-fry vegetables and masaman spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weneki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
It was alright...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I had some frozen cooked shrimp left over and was trying to figure out what I wanted to do with them. I didn't have a 1 1/2 lbs of shrimp that the recipe called for. I used half a bag of jumbo shrimp (less than 1 lbs) instead and it was a perfect amount. I found this recipe after doing a "shrimp and rice" search. And I'm glad I did! I had pretty much all the ingredients except for the green pepper and ham so I used everything but that. I think it came out really good. I liked the combination of the shrimp and pineapple. With some soy sauce used at the end, it was a nice sweet and salty taste combination. My husband liked it as well. And it seemed like a relatively low-fat kind of meal. I even had some leftover for lunch the next day. I'll definitely like to use the green pepper and maybe even the ham for next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This fit all the criterea, fast, easy, healthy and liked by everyone in my family! I substituted red peppers for green and didn't used ham but otherwise followed exactly. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The main ingredients of this recipe suggest it might be a scrumptious and appealing dish, but in my opinion the liquids - soy sauce and pineapple juice alone - do nothing to add flavour and in my opinion the dish looks good but the taste is bland. To me, it's as though the recipe screams out for a tangy sweet and sour sauce, but stopped short by missing ingredients. A simple sweet and sour sauce can easily be made without any other changes except by using the liquid from a larger 20 oz can of pineapple and by adding 1/3 cup each of vinegar and brown sugar, and thickening the sauce with 1 to 2 tbsp of cornstarch - stirred in along with the soy sauce and ginger as the recipe states. A sprinkling of cayenne or 5 spice seasoning adds another tasty dimension - sweet sour and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My boyfriend and I love pineapple so this dish was absolutely delicious!!! The boy kept going back for more! You know that is always a good sign :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
A fairly simple but tasty dish. The only variation that I made from the recipe given was to add 1/2 teaspoon black pepper. This would be great to liven up a potluck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States