Pineapple Shrimp Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this today and it was delicious. I did do as mentioned to make a sweet and sour sauce. The one thing I should not have done is add the entire 20oz. can of pineapple. Just a bit to much pineapple. Other than that made as directed. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. It is a bit bland so I added come cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. I only had chicken on hand so added that instead of ham. I read another suggestion of adding green onions, that sounds like it would be a fantastic idea. This will be a recipe that I hang on to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I was skeptical to make this because it sounded so different from things we usually eat, but it was delicious. The flavors tied together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
The recipe was great, but I used frozen stir-fry vegetables and masaman spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weneki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
It was alright...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I had some frozen cooked shrimp left over and was trying to figure out what I wanted to do with them. I didn't have a 1 1/2 lbs of shrimp that the recipe called for. I used half a bag of jumbo shrimp (less than 1 lbs) instead and it was a perfect amount. I found this recipe after doing a "shrimp and rice" search. And I'm glad I did! I had pretty much all the ingredients except for the green pepper and ham so I used everything but that. I think it came out really good. I liked the combination of the shrimp and pineapple. With some soy sauce used at the end, it was a nice sweet and salty taste combination. My husband liked it as well. And it seemed like a relatively low-fat kind of meal. I even had some leftover for lunch the next day. I'll definitely like to use the green pepper and maybe even the ham for next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This fit all the criterea, fast, easy, healthy and liked by everyone in my family! I substituted red peppers for green and didn't used ham but otherwise followed exactly. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The main ingredients of this recipe suggest it might be a scrumptious and appealing dish, but in my opinion the liquids - soy sauce and pineapple juice alone - do nothing to add flavour and in my opinion the dish looks good but the taste is bland. To me, it's as though the recipe screams out for a tangy sweet and sour sauce, but stopped short by missing ingredients. A simple sweet and sour sauce can easily be made without any other changes except by using the liquid from a larger 20 oz can of pineapple and by adding 1/3 cup each of vinegar and brown sugar, and thickening the sauce with 1 to 2 tbsp of cornstarch - stirred in along with the soy sauce and ginger as the recipe states. A sprinkling of cayenne or 5 spice seasoning adds another tasty dimension - sweet sour and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My boyfriend and I love pineapple so this dish was absolutely delicious!!! The boy kept going back for more! You know that is always a good sign :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
A fairly simple but tasty dish. The only variation that I made from the recipe given was to add 1/2 teaspoon black pepper. This would be great to liven up a potluck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States