Pineapple Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
excellent cake.this was very moist and very good with cool whip topping.i'll be baking this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Perhaps I did something wrong, but I'm pretty sure I followed the recipe exactly. My cake was very brown after 30 min, but it was still raw inside...it took 50 min to bake completely, so all the edges ended up being really brown (after 30 min I turned down the oven temp to try and prevent over-browning). The cake itself was also brown on the inside, which I thought was strange. It had an ok texture, but it didn't have much of a pineapple flavor and wasn't very sweet. Maybe using pineapple in syrup instead of natural juice would have worked better. I'd also do it at a lower temp. right from the beginning if I were to make it again. On the plus side, it was easy to make and there wasn't much clean-up required!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
A very interesting cake - mine turned out fluffy and sticky, a little chewy. The top did get brown, but not excessively so. The inside was a nice golden yellow. The flavor was good, it had some nice pieces of pineapple but wasn't too sweet. I cooked mine for 15 min at 350 but turned the temp down to 325 when I saw the top starting to brown. I then cooked it for another 16 or 17 minutes until the inside was done. Very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Was easy to make and tasty too. It gave me an idea also to add to it. I cut the pinapple in 1/2 and added manderine orange to it it also taste great. When done I sprinkled alittle cinnamon on top and whipcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I thought this was ok but it had an odd texture - it was too moist for me. Also, I felt it tasted like it's missing something, a bit of salt might help that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This cake is delicious yet so fast and easy.I dont have a sheet pan so I used a large spring form.I lowered the temp to about 160 and baked for 50 minutes.I served it with vanilla ice cream and a warm mandarin orange sauce.Both my husband and I loved it and it is something I will make again and serve to guests.For those of you who might like to try it this way,the sauce is simply made with a small can of mandarin pieces with juice,1/4 c sugar,1 Tbsp lemon juice and 1 Tbsp corn starch.Mix the 3 ingredients in a small sauce pan,bring slowly to a boil and allow to boil gently for about 3 minutes or until thickened.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I followed the directions exactly - how could I not? They were simple and straight forward. The cake caved in the middle, the top browned a lot, and the cake didn't even taste good. I was trying to find a recipe that didn't call for butter/margarine/shortening as I was out - I should have just waited until I went to the grocery store. I'm sorry for the negative review, but this just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Excellent recipe! I'm sure it would be great with cream cheese frosting, but still is great just as is - and a lot less fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
I've been making this recipe for two or three years. I put a cream cheese icing on it. It's simple and SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This cake is delicious. However, the texture is sort of rubbery. I've made similar cakes with the same result. I'll continue to hunt for a basic pineapple cake with a texture I like. I didn't make the frosting, so cannot comment on that, but I imagine the combo is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States