Pineapple Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JANELIM
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Spongy, moist and sticky. The texture doesn't taste like eating a cake. It took me 55 minutes to bake the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANELIM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I followed the directions exactly - how could I not? They were simple and straight forward. The cake caved in the middle, the top browned a lot, and the cake didn't even taste good. I was trying to find a recipe that didn't call for butter/margarine/shortening as I was out - I should have just waited until I went to the grocery store. I'm sorry for the negative review, but this just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
A very interesting cake - mine turned out fluffy and sticky, a little chewy. The top did get brown, but not excessively so. The inside was a nice golden yellow. The flavor was good, it had some nice pieces of pineapple but wasn't too sweet. I cooked mine for 15 min at 350 but turned the temp down to 325 when I saw the top starting to brown. I then cooked it for another 16 or 17 minutes until the inside was done. Very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
The cake is interesting...I made a few changes. I added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Since it was pretty brown after just 20min, I covered it with folio and continued to bake for an additional 25min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Was easy to make and tasty too. It gave me an idea also to add to it. I cut the pinapple in 1/2 and added manderine orange to it it also taste great. When done I sprinkled alittle cinnamon on top and whipcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My cake also came out brown. It was a birthday cake for lady at work and my first time baking it so I had to try it. Now I have to either make a new cake or find a plate to put it on. It's very big but tasty. I made my own buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Perhaps I did something wrong, but I'm pretty sure I followed the recipe exactly. My cake was very brown after 30 min, but it was still raw inside...it took 50 min to bake completely, so all the edges ended up being really brown (after 30 min I turned down the oven temp to try and prevent over-browning). The cake itself was also brown on the inside, which I thought was strange. It had an ok texture, but it didn't have much of a pineapple flavor and wasn't very sweet. Maybe using pineapple in syrup instead of natural juice would have worked better. I'd also do it at a lower temp. right from the beginning if I were to make it again. On the plus side, it was easy to make and there wasn't much clean-up required!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was a very easy cake to make, and I had high hopes since no oil was used. It came out looking nice, and it was very spongy. However it's way too moist - I covered the pan with plastic wrap and the next morning the entire top of the cake came off with the wrap! So, I couldn't use it for it's intended purpose (Father's Day picnic). Also, since it's such a moist cake I was worried about it getting moldy in room temp, so I'd suggest others keep it in the fridge when storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
A really easy and yummy cake! Almost spongey in texture, unlike most cakes w/o fat, which can be overly moist (good in some cases - ie brownies - but not in others). I cut the sugar by 1/2 a cup and also used pineapple in natural juice. I also baked it in a loaf tin rather than in a sheet pan, so I had to increase the cooking time slightly. This was perfect for our indoor picnic! Thank you Beverly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Even with chunked pineapple in a Bundt pan, it was still incredibly easy and extremely tasty. Got rave reviews by everyone who ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States