Pineapple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
These were delicious! I was worried because of how wet the dough was after adding the pineapple, but they baked up really nice. I think next time I'll try adding shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
great recipe. One variation that I used was, instead of honey I added home-made pumpkin butter which had lemon and tangerine zest and omitted the pineapple and extra zest, supper tasty and cake like core with the crisp outer layer! Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This recipie was really heavy handed on the baking powder which you can taste, and the mixture needed quite a bit more flour than originally stated. I got good reviews from takers but the overall opinion was that there wasn't enough pineapple. Next time I make these I'm going to try half the baking powder and 2 cans of pinapple with a cup more flour and a 1/4 of sugar on top of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
People in the states tend to like things super-sweet because they've been weaned on Twinkies. Scones are NOT supposed to be overly sweet. These are very good, considering the fact that the dough is like that of cookie dough. I just used tablespoon fulls and dropped them on the sheet. AWESOME! And not too much sugar. Have them with tea or coffee and they're even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettohara66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Awesome! i added 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg and cinnamon and they came out so delicious! my whole family loved them, even my picky children. I now make these regularly because everyone loved them so much! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
While the dough is very sticky, the finished product is absolutely delicious. These are tender and light. I used an ice cream scoop, almost full, to portion the dough. Mine needed a few extra minutes to bake, but I was using AirBake cookie sheets and parchment paper. I juiced the orange after zesting and mixed some of the juice with powdered sugar to make a glaze. I added toasted coconut to a few and the combination was out of this world. (They are great as is, also. Scones are often served with jam.) Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Followed recipe except for these changes: used just under 1 cup crushed pineapple (only had a big can of it), substituted 1 tsp dried orange peel for fresh zest, added 2 Tb sweetened coconut flakes, 1/2 tsp cinnamon. and 1/4 tsp each nutmeg & cardamom. Baked 17 minutes & they were soft like light fluffy biscuits (different than I'm used to for scones) but just the right amount of sweet! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Not a bad recipe. A little dry yes but if you top with butter and a little honey they are very nice. I did not have any pineapples so used a can of fruit cocktail, quite a nice variation but would like to try it with just pineapples next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I was very skeptical when making these scones because I've never had such "slop" to deal with in making scones. But these turned out to be the fluffiest and easiest scones I have ever made. I intend to use the recipe as a base for other flavors (these flavors were not the best for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
These have a nice flavor and good texture. I suggest putting 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg in the flour mixture: it added a soft flavor that really complemented the orange and pineapple nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States