Pineapple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
These are wonderful! I made two batches this weekend because we're having a mob of house guests for the holidays - I'm sure they will go over very big! I was very pleasantly surprised to find the coconut milk with no problem whatsoever. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
Tried it once as written: much too biscuit crumbly and the flavors didn't mature. Tried it twice the "overnight refrig" method: texture much smoother and the flavors matured nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Bake just until done, like a cake. They are then just like soft cookies, and I put frosting on mine! I couldn't taste any of the coconut- mostly orange, so maybe a little coconut extract next time. Very easy- i'll try some flavor variations next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I tried this recipe. They were awful! I tried drizzling icing on them and it didn't help. They had no flavor other than you could taste the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
These turned out really yummy. They were not dry at all, perhaps because of the pineapple. I served them with English Breakfast tea, honey and butter. I will be making these for my next brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereca74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I think these were pretty good, I added some sugar and a little Garam Masala which made them much tastier. But like all recipies they are easy to change your taste. So this is a geat recipie to play with. Thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMBOOPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Garam Masala Garam is the Indian word for "warm" or "hot," and this blend of dry-roasted, ground spices from the colder climes of northern India adds a sense of "warmth" to both palate and spirit. (Mentioned as an addition in another reviewers comments.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
too doughy, not at all (texture wise) like other scones I have made. I put in some coconut extract and cardamom. I made an orange glaze for a topping, that helped, but not enough... I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Used bread flour instead of all purpose flour, low-fat coconut milk and pineapple mange marmelade (made locally) instead of honey. They were fabulous--Not too doughy or too dry; slightly sweet and slightly savory. I made them for a staff breakfast a couple months ago and they were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
These have a nice flavor and good texture. I suggest putting 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg in the flour mixture: it added a soft flavor that really complemented the orange and pineapple nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States