Pineapple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
this was a nice light snack.. i had to leave out the corn b/c i didn't have any and i subbed the orange juice with half pineapple and half lime juice.. tripled the cumin and probably doubled the cilantro.. added some chopped tomato.. also cut the beans in half as suggested by Jennifer Juniper.. used a couple of baby jalapeno's from our little plant.. left the seeds in one of them.. it added just the right amount of kick.. me and bf enjoyed this with tortilla chips.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rndicecco
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I didn't use corn but I did add a little garlic. Sort of lacks any real flavor overall but with a few additions of salt, vinegar, pepper and lemon juice, that seems to help. I also did a trio of peppers for color. Overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Sweet, spicy and delicious! Next time I will leave out the corn and black beans when pairing it with fish (or any meat). The beans and corn work well in it as a dip for tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by piggyM
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was exactly what I was looking for. It was very tasty and I will definitely be making this again. I served it over grilled chicken and yellow rice as a side. Perfect! The only thing I did different was add a chopped tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I followed the recipe as stated (except I used one green chili pepper instead of two because that is what I had on hand) and I was really disappointed with the results. I was expecting a very flavorful salsa but instead it was quite bland and the flavors hadn't blended at all - even though I prepared it several hours in advance. I made it to pair with grilled chicken and possibly use any leftovers as a dip with corn chips. However, we barely ate any of the salsa with dinner. I really like the concept so I will probably try it one more time and see if maybe it turns out differently, but for now it just gets a 2 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Wow. Wish I'd read the more negative reviews first, as I agree with many that the black beans overwhelm the other ingredients. I may try it again, but I will definitely omit the black beans AND the orange juice and add some fresh lime juice instead. Will probably double the fresh pineapple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Daneigh
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I am not domesticated at all and this recipe was easy and fabulous. I wanted to make it as kid friendly as possible so I added a mango, used yellow instead of green bell pepper, left out cumin, onion and chili peppers and only used a speck of cilantro. In my own serving I added chili powder. My kids actually ate black beans!! I thought the beans were great, and I love that I got peppers and beans into my picky eaters (husband included!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I tried it without beans ,red pepper,cumin,corn .It tasted really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this recipe for a salsa contest at work. It went up against 5 other 'traditional' salsas with tomatoes. It won the contest. It is sooo fresh and clean tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This recipe is a good start, but not great as is. First of all, the orange juice makes the whole thing taste like dessert because it's much too sweet. The pineapple is plenty sweet as is. Lime is a must and I added the juice of two. I might even add lime zest next time to increase that citrus-y element that makes salsa good. It also needed garlic because flavors this fresh need some warmer elements for balance. I added garlic powder to taste, which made this a four star recipe along with the lime. I did not add corn or beans because I don't like those ingredients in salsa. This is a good base recipe that becomes great with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States