Pineapple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Pretty good! I've made this exactly a few times, but have to say a few mods. made it even better. Here are my changes: -**Use only about 1/2 to 3/4 amount of suggested beans, otherwise it gets to be rather beany tasting and overpowers other flavors. -I don't like green peppers, so I just use red and yellow. It's glorious. -Make sure to use fresh pineapple--cut pineapple up and leave in the fridge for a while before serving. This way it drains a bit and you can use the excess juice in addition to the OJ. -I also add fresh mango and a five or so baby tomatoes. -also very nice on crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This is the best recipe!!! It is a really great summer dish and has a nice fresh test. Make sure that you only try this recipe if you like cilantro and cumin...it really comes through. I've also found that canned pineapples will work if you are unable to get fresh. This also tastes great over greens, the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I love this - it is crunchy, sweet, spicy - like a CIRCUS IN YOUR MOUTH!! I make a double batch every time I make it. I love cilantro so I usually double the amount and kick up the cumin a bit, too. This is great as a side salad or for chip-dipping. We also roll it up in tortillas with seasoned meat. I've made it several times and have even tried with mango instead of pineapple which is also SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was fantastic! I found this recipe on my allrecipes app on my phone and had to login to review it! I did add some fresh lime juice, but kept everything else the same. I could eat this by itself, and did while my chicken was cooking. It is so light and fresh and crisp and tart and sweet! My husband tasted it and immediately scooped some in a bowl to eat with chips as an appetizer. This is definitely something to serve for Cinco de Mayo, for guests, or just as a light and satisfying complement to a meal. Honestly, if I was a vegetarian, I would probably eat this by the bowlful! But I do have to say, the lime juice is what made it perfect to me. I read the recipe four times because I thought for sure there should be lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made this salsa for a Hawaiian themed party and it was a big hit. Lime flavored tortillas are excellent with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I left out the corn & black beans. Served it with Kalua Pork, and it was good. I think it would be delicious on grilled chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I absolutely loved it. Outstanding! I didn't change one bit and it turned out perfect. When I was buying mangos, they only had the not-so-ripe ones and it actually turned out better as the pieces weren't mushy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
My husband and I loved this salsa. I served it on grilled jerk chicken and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I made this for Easter and my whole family enjoyed this! I did not use both chile peppers, but increased the cilantro. Everybody loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Only put beans in it if you want to completely ruin it. I am not sure why anyone would put beans in this recipe, they do not go with the other ingredients. Made it with the beans and it was not to my liking. No one would eat it. Made it again without and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States