Pineapple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this recipe for a salsa contest at work. It went up against 5 other 'traditional' salsas with tomatoes. It won the contest. It is sooo fresh and clean tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This recipe is a good start, but not great as is. First of all, the orange juice makes the whole thing taste like dessert because it's much too sweet. The pineapple is plenty sweet as is. Lime is a must and I added the juice of two. I might even add lime zest next time to increase that citrus-y element that makes salsa good. It also needed garlic because flavors this fresh need some warmer elements for balance. I added garlic powder to taste, which made this a four star recipe along with the lime. I did not add corn or beans because I don't like those ingredients in salsa. This is a good base recipe that becomes great with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My husband really loved this...I like that the measurements do not have to be precise...I left out the cilantro (hate it!) and the hot peppers and used only about a half recipe...this was plenty for 2. Served it with grilled boneless skinless chicken breasts and jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
There's no need to look further for a great pineapple salsa. Genius mixture!! For the person who said it was too 'beany', you need to rinse the beans in a colander until all the sauce comes off. Don't just rinse them in the can or there will still be murky sauce discoloring the mix. I made it as described then made the following changes: white and green parts of scallion thinly sliced instead of the onion, doubled the pineapple, and also added the juice that the fresh pineapple spears were sitting in to the mix (still kept the OJ). I didn't thaw the corn as it immediately thawed when I stirred the mix and chilled everything. For the chiles, I used finely minced jalapenos with the seeds and ribs removed and it was still a little spicy -not too much for me but someone thought it was too much for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Loved this! Needed a last minute salsa for some fish, this was quick & easy. Didn't have the chiles or green peppers, just added extra red. Also used extra pineapple juice from the can (in the future, I just won't use the orange - tasted fine, but just easier with the pineapple). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved it! Made it just as written and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I still prefer cowboy caviar. If I ever make this again, I will: cut down the cumin to 1/4 tsp. Fold in the black beans last. Too much stirring causes them to fall apart. I used a fresh jalapeno instead of chiles, just because it came directly from my garden. I think I might substitute mango or black-eyed peas for the beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilDish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
added this as a topping/side over smoked ribs with a barbeque sauce using Capt.Morgan's Rum. Enough flavors and texture to keep you going for a month...was a rave by all that had it (nope, no leftovers at all...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was good, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This wasn't terrible but it wasn't great. It was a little flavorless, I had to add some cayenne. Fresh pineapple is very expensive where I live so I used canned and maybe that was part of the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States