Pineapple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Sweet, spicy and delicious! Next time I will leave out the corn and black beans when pairing it with fish (or any meat). The beans and corn work well in it as a dip for tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by piggyM
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was exactly what I was looking for. It was very tasty and I will definitely be making this again. I served it over grilled chicken and yellow rice as a side. Perfect! The only thing I did different was add a chopped tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I followed the recipe as stated (except I used one green chili pepper instead of two because that is what I had on hand) and I was really disappointed with the results. I was expecting a very flavorful salsa but instead it was quite bland and the flavors hadn't blended at all - even though I prepared it several hours in advance. I made it to pair with grilled chicken and possibly use any leftovers as a dip with corn chips. However, we barely ate any of the salsa with dinner. I really like the concept so I will probably try it one more time and see if maybe it turns out differently, but for now it just gets a 2 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Wow. Wish I'd read the more negative reviews first, as I agree with many that the black beans overwhelm the other ingredients. I may try it again, but I will definitely omit the black beans AND the orange juice and add some fresh lime juice instead. Will probably double the fresh pineapple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Daneigh
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I am not domesticated at all and this recipe was easy and fabulous. I wanted to make it as kid friendly as possible so I added a mango, used yellow instead of green bell pepper, left out cumin, onion and chili peppers and only used a speck of cilantro. In my own serving I added chili powder. My kids actually ate black beans!! I thought the beans were great, and I love that I got peppers and beans into my picky eaters (husband included!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I tried it without beans ,red pepper,cumin,corn .It tasted really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this recipe for a salsa contest at work. It went up against 5 other 'traditional' salsas with tomatoes. It won the contest. It is sooo fresh and clean tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This recipe is a good start, but not great as is. First of all, the orange juice makes the whole thing taste like dessert because it's much too sweet. The pineapple is plenty sweet as is. Lime is a must and I added the juice of two. I might even add lime zest next time to increase that citrus-y element that makes salsa good. It also needed garlic because flavors this fresh need some warmer elements for balance. I added garlic powder to taste, which made this a four star recipe along with the lime. I did not add corn or beans because I don't like those ingredients in salsa. This is a good base recipe that becomes great with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My husband really loved this...I like that the measurements do not have to be precise...I left out the cilantro (hate it!) and the hot peppers and used only about a half recipe...this was plenty for 2. Served it with grilled boneless skinless chicken breasts and jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
There's no need to look further for a great pineapple salsa. Genius mixture!! For the person who said it was too 'beany', you need to rinse the beans in a colander until all the sauce comes off. Don't just rinse them in the can or there will still be murky sauce discoloring the mix. I made it as described then made the following changes: white and green parts of scallion thinly sliced instead of the onion, doubled the pineapple, and also added the juice that the fresh pineapple spears were sitting in to the mix (still kept the OJ). I didn't thaw the corn as it immediately thawed when I stirred the mix and chilled everything. For the chiles, I used finely minced jalapenos with the seeds and ribs removed and it was still a little spicy -not too much for me but someone thought it was too much for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States