Pineapple-Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Looks good but I'm wondering what the 2 tablespoons of butter are for? They're in the ingredient list but not mentioned in the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This pie is delicious! I made it for my grandpa who said that his mom used to make the best pineapple-rhubarb pie but hasn't had it since. To be honest, it didn't sound too good to me. But I made it anyway and he LOVED it! My sister and I also LOVED it. Great recipe and easy to make. One thing I messed up on, I cooked the rhubarb first and then mixed it in with the crushed pineapple. I also used two cans of pineapple and only 2 1/2 cups of rhubarb. Even with the modifications, it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni
Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is very tasty, nice citrus flavor. A fav of ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was delicious, easy to make and it scored big points with my mother-in-law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Cut sugar to 3/4 cup. After cooking 15 minutes at 425 degrees F, drop temperature to 350 and cook an additional 45 minutes or until crust is slightly browns. This should help remove the much too sugary taste and leave some of the natural tartness of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I make this pie every rhubarb season. It has the best flavor and my hubby loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe. At 80 + I finally made a rhubarb pie with a filling that did not bake down to 1/2" thick. Very substantial sized pie. I will cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup. After baking for 15-20 min. turn down to 350 for an additional 40 min.and cover with foil to prevent over browning. Was nice made with freshly picked rhubarb. My husband loved it. Delicious served warm with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States