Pineapple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I give the recipe itself 3 stars, but my version gets 5 stars. I increased the butter in the mix to 3 sticks instead of one. I used butter flavored shortening. Along with the vanilla extract I put a tablespoon of pineapple extract. I increased the sugar to 3 cups instead of 1 1/2 and I used a cup of evarporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I'm sorry, but I thought this cake was rather dry. It also wasn't very sweet, nor could you taste the pineapple in it very much. The only pineapple you could taste was in the glaze that went on top. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
i took a chance and baked this cake for the first time for a church function for the new year. it was an absolute sensation. the kids devoured it before the adults had even had a chance to taste it. i'll bake it again any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
This is the first cake I ever baked from scratch it was very easy and totally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a wonderful pineapple pound cake! I did not have any problems with it. I did not have a tube pan, so I used more of a loaf pan. It is similar to what a friend used to make for us. I liked this version very much too. We froze the second loaf for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
THIS CAKE IS WONDERFUL, THE PREPARATION TIME WAS GOOD. THE CAKE WAS DELICIOUS. ZENOBIA WADE SPARTANBURG, SOUTH CAROLINA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This cake is easy to make and not just a plain pound cake. The glaze is very tasty. Makes a large cake that goes a long ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Very good! The cake part is not that sweet, the topping is extremely sugary and overall it balances out. But next time I will reduce the amount of sugar on the topping out of personal preference. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was not one of my favorite recipes. You can't taste the pinapple in the cake, only in the glaze. The prep. was no trouble and it came out perfectly in a bundt pan, but probably would just make a plain pound cake next time and serve with the glaze on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States