Pineapple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
The filling for this definitely needs to be doubled. The ratio for the filling as it is is no where near enough for a 9" pie. I would also reduce the temperature as another reader suggested. I baked this at 425 and it burned. I would go to 375 as one other reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
i made this today and here's some tips for others:- 1. the taste is good, if your pineapple is sweet, u can cut the sugar a bit 2. if you cut the sugar and worry the filling will be very runny, you can add a bit more cornstarch 3. you need to wait til the pie is completely cool to cut a slice, or else the filling will be like fluid and run out like there's no tomorrow! 4. i change 1/2 of sugar to brown sugar the second time i made this, tasted even better 5. i didnt use milk and white sugar for the top, instead, i use only egg wash (egg + water then brush the pie crust before i bake it) 6. if you have no time to wait til it's cool, try not to crush the pineapple but to cut it into small pieces, like cube 7. if you really want to crush the pineapple, ill suggest you to make individual pie like those u have in McDonald's and serve it with a bit icing sugar to make it look better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Absolutely perfect to bring to work on March 14 - PI day! I plan to have more filling, use the 1/2 brown sugar plus add either vanilla or almond flavor. I'm still toying with the idea include some toasted coconut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made as written - definitely needs more filling! The flavor is good though, so that's plus. I will probably try it again with more pineapple. Also, my crust was a little brown, so I may shorten the cooking time a bit, especially since you cook the filling on the stove before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicios and super easy recipe, made it for thanksgiving and everyone loved it, I'm goin to save this one to keep using...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Aleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
i cooked this pie for my husband who has always wanted this kind of pineapple pies but i couldnt find a good recipe that got firm in the middle. he loves it. i had to double the filling recipe however, i use pampered chef pie pans and the single recipe didnt come close to filling it. the double recipe worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe is fabulous! Easy to make and delicious! I triple the recipe for the filling and make two pies- one to eat and one to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Pineapple lovers rejoice! This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Never had a pineapply pie before so don't know what exactly to look for, but it is different. Very easy to make. I didn't have a double crust available, so instead of a top crust we just topped with some whipping cream when serving. Will probably make again just because it is easy & not your "typical" berry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States