Pineapple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
My BIL asked me to find a two-crust pineapple pie recipe for Thanksgiving 2002. I immediately turned on my computer and found this one at allrecipes.com. Imagine my suprise when not only my dear BIL but my dad and brother also chose this pie over their own personal favorites! I have made this pie at least 2 dozen times in the past 18 months and everytime it tastes better! I had to make 4 of them in the month of April alone! Sometimes I go to the pantry and find that I only have tidbits or chunks. I just run them through my mini-chopper and voila! -- crushed pineapple! My only suggestion would be to "wash" your uncooked crust with a beaten egg before you pour the still-warm filling into it in order to assure your crust will not be soggy. My BIL insists this recipe is perfect just the way it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
My new son-in-law wanted a pineapple pie..So, I tried this one, but added about 2 tsps of pineapple flavoring and used light brown sugar, instead of white in the filling...He raved about it, so I guess it was good. As for me, i'm not much on pineapple...But this recipe is a keeper...Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
PHEW!!! Boy am I glad I found this recipe. I lost the recipe I had for this pie, and knew if it could be found, I would find it here. Thanks so much for posting this. I can sleep tonight now. After I bake of course. Oh...just about forgot. Everyone who likes pineapple pie, loves this recipe, and it is so easy. Just one little bit of advise. For really easy clean-up use a nonstick sauce pan and I use 2 cans of pineapple for a 9" deep pie. You may have a little bit left over, but I would rather have too much than have too little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I used pineapple tidbits instead of crushed pineapple. I think it's better this way than it would be with crushed pineapple because you can actually bite into real pineapple pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I've never had pineapple pie before and this recipe came together fabulously. I used a homemade double pie crust from the Betty Crocker cookbook and it added the perfect amount of crispiness to really give this pie the needed oomph. The pineapple flavor isn't overpowering like I thought it would be thanks to the lemon juice. Thank you...will make many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I only made the filling part of this for a coconut cake..and it was FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I am NOT a good baker and this pie turns out perfect every time! It is my husband's favorite dessert and he doesn't even like sweets. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
husband loves pineapple pie. only finds them to buy once and a while. i figured how hard can it be. THIS WAS GREAT. i used tidbits instead of crushed pineapple. it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Delicious pie and very easy to make. I only had 1/2 cup sugar and the sweetness was right for us. I also added about 1/2 cup coconut. Thanks for sharing this recipe... it will be enjoyed many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This is a great pie, especially if you serve it warm out of the oven with a little vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States