Pineapple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I had an employee request "pineapple pie" for his birthday treat. Never made such a pie and was pleasantly surprised at how good it really is. I will say though I used a Longaberger pie plate which is pretty deep, my instinct was to double the filling. Glad I did...it filled the crust pefectly. I did use 1/4 cup LESS sugar and I did use TIBITS as someone else suggested. As I was making the filling I did think to myself (since I doubled the filling recipe) that it would have been good to use one can of Tibits and one can of crushed. Very good pie and oh SOOOOO easy, made it in the morning and took it to work WARM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PennyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I've made pineapple pie for years with my mother's recipe. I use unsweetened pineapple and a scant half cup of sugar and two TBS butter. I notice that most fruit pie recipes call for way too much sugar. It masks the taste of the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hadia
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This pie was wonderful! I toasted coconut and spread it out underneath the pineapple filling for a tropical essence. The tip to put lemon zest in the crust, and to use pineapple pieces really helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hadia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Isle Of Wight, England, U.K.
Living In: Hendon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was so mouthwateringly delicious! I will definitely make this recipe again and again! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyArndt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious! However, I can only give this four stars because there is simply not enough filling to fill the entire pie. I used 1 1/2 times the filling recipe and next time I will double it. One of the people that I was serving this to is a diabetic, so I substituted the sugar with splenda and it still tastes awesome - you can't even tell that it is sugar free! I also used pineapple tidbits instead of crushed pineapple because I wanted to be able to bite into the pineapple. I might try it with crushed pineapple next time or even with pineapple chunks. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This recipe tastes like it reads. There's nothing inspiring about it. I'd probably enjoy making this with a kid, but the product is nothing to be too proud of. I didn't alter the recipe at all, but it could do with only 1/2 cup of sugar, and it probably needs some coconut and walnuts. A single-crusted version with whipped cream topping might be a good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My mother made this pie with all the same ingredients except for no top crust. The other difference is she used a pre-baked crust. After you cook the filling, you let it cool, pour it into the cooled, pre-paked pie shell and let it chill in the refrigerator. Just before serving, spread whipped cream on top and serve. This was always a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly. I thought it was a little sweet for my tastes. My guests liked it, but it did not wow anyone. It is very easy and has a good overall taste. The pineapple filling thickened up very nicely and quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Excellent pie and so simple to make. I followed the recipe and everyone loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I have been eating and making pineapple pies since I was a small child. This is a fantastic recipe, I did not add a top crust on my first one It was eaten in one day! I'm making one today for a friend that has never tasted a pineapple pie and adding a top crust..I'm sure it will still be a fantastic pie! Try it, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States