Pineapple Orange Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Orange flavor is lost. used 1/2 c juice, and increased flour to maintain consistency. Could deal without pineapple chunks, so would recommend crushed if you must have pineapple flavor. Made a pineapple juice "syrup" as others suggested so as not to waste (though drinking is tasty too). This helped, but again, would rather not have a chunk//chopped fruit pancake. otherwise, it's a fluffy buttermilk pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
My kids liked these. I used crushed pinapple, which worked really well, and made the pancakes easier for the kids to cut and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
these were very good...light and fluffy just how pancakes should be. I used pineapple chunks rather than slices....be sure to drain them well! Next time I will experiment by adding a touch of ginger to the batter to give it more of a "tropical" taste. Overall, very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These pancakes are tasty. I used crushed pineapple and I did add vanilla. Next time I would also add ginger. Most flavored pancake recipes do call for vanilla and cinnamon--an extract and a spice (of some sort) are pretty standard in flavored pancakes, and I don't know why they were omitted here, so I'd add them back in. The orange juice was lost in this recipe, and I did want to taste it, so next time I'd probably add orange zest or extract. Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Good, but make sure to drain pineapple. The first time I did, the second time I didn't (thinking "Ooh, mixing orange juice and pineapple juice will be good) and it threw off the consistency, making them burn and stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These weren't bad. I didn't have buttermilk but had 1/2 c half and half to use up, so I used that with some regular skim milk and added just under 1 tbsp of vinegar to accommodate. I used crushed pineapple and think next time I would not drain so carefully as the batter was a little thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My kids and I really enjoyed these pancakes! I think they are my new favorites, they have such a nice soft texture and the flavor is perfect. My only change was to use a can of drained crushed pineapple instead of chunks. I will make these often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was good, though you could stand to ditch the sugar (pineapple and OJ provides enough on their own), and to really compliment the pineapple, it would be better with a healthy dose of grated orange rind added to the batter. I make stramberry-lemon pancakes regularly and use essentially the same recipe, but the rind is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
My boyfriend thinks they're alright. I love them. I threw pecans in the batter and topped the finished product with more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
These are delicious! Next time I will double the recipe because my 3 year old and 18 month boys polished off this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States