Pineapple Macadamia Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
It was very easy and delicious. I doubled the recipe to fit into a 9x13 cake pan with carry lid to take to a dinner. I cut back a little on the sugar because I thought it would be too sweet, but next time I'll add the full amount. VERY moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This cake was really wonderful!! I only had pineapple run on hand. It turned out great! I agree that the cake needs to sit and mellow for a couple of days. It becomes more flavorful and even more moist. Thank you for a simple and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mitchell0819
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made a few changes but this recipe was GREAT!...I recommend more pineapples...less rum. I added a cream cheese frosting with extra macadamia nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Way too sweet! And this is coming from someone who loves sweet flavors. I added a bit less sugar than the recipe calls for and I still found it almost unbearably sweet. I'd suggest using maybe between 50-60% of the sugar listed in the recipe, both for enhanced flavor and a bit fewer calories. Other than that, the cake was nice and moist, but the macadamia and pineapple flavors did seem overpowered by the mighty sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Moist & delicious. When I started I didn't realize my pudding pkg was only half the amount needed but it didn't seem to matter. I cut back on the glaze because I was worried it would be to "rummy" for me & also wanted to reduce calories. Changed butter for shortening. Next time I would add more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is a very good recipe. The cake is moist and delicious. Next time, I will add another 1/2 cup of macadamias for sure. I was pretty generous with the pineapple - I added a little more than 8 ounces. I baked this cake in a nonstick bundt pan. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is amazing! I didn't have any macadamia nuts but it still turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for my parents who will be going to Hawaii soon. It was really good and everyone enjoyed it. I did not use rum. While stirring the batter I was reminded of the smell of dump cake http://cake.allrecipes.com/az/DumpCake.asp YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This cake was a very big hit for Thanksgiving this year. However, I could not tollerate the rum... I thought it over powered the other ingredients. i think the cake would be wonderful without the rum! It doesnt need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This is a decadent cake! I did add about 3 times as many macadamia nuts as the recipe states and please don't serve it right away, it needs to sit for at least 2 days (covered) to absorb the wonderful rum, it is just like a fruitcake that needs time to age. I served it for Christmas desert and everybody raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States