Pineapple Macadamia Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mitchell0819
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made a few changes but this recipe was GREAT!...I recommend more pineapples...less rum. I added a cream cheese frosting with extra macadamia nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Way too sweet! And this is coming from someone who loves sweet flavors. I added a bit less sugar than the recipe calls for and I still found it almost unbearably sweet. I'd suggest using maybe between 50-60% of the sugar listed in the recipe, both for enhanced flavor and a bit fewer calories. Other than that, the cake was nice and moist, but the macadamia and pineapple flavors did seem overpowered by the mighty sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Moist & delicious. When I started I didn't realize my pudding pkg was only half the amount needed but it didn't seem to matter. I cut back on the glaze because I was worried it would be to "rummy" for me & also wanted to reduce calories. Changed butter for shortening. Next time I would add more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is a very good recipe. The cake is moist and delicious. Next time, I will add another 1/2 cup of macadamias for sure. I was pretty generous with the pineapple - I added a little more than 8 ounces. I baked this cake in a nonstick bundt pan. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is amazing! I didn't have any macadamia nuts but it still turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for my parents who will be going to Hawaii soon. It was really good and everyone enjoyed it. I did not use rum. While stirring the batter I was reminded of the smell of dump cake http://cake.allrecipes.com/az/DumpCake.asp YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This cake was a very big hit for Thanksgiving this year. However, I could not tollerate the rum... I thought it over powered the other ingredients. i think the cake would be wonderful without the rum! It doesnt need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This is a decadent cake! I did add about 3 times as many macadamia nuts as the recipe states and please don't serve it right away, it needs to sit for at least 2 days (covered) to absorb the wonderful rum, it is just like a fruitcake that needs time to age. I served it for Christmas desert and everybody raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States