Pineapple Macadamia Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
There is no quanity for the macadamia nuts There is no instructions as to when you should add the vegetable oil. I baked this for 1 hour and it was not nearly done, but the toothpick can out clean. It had a great flavor, only wished it was cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This bread did not cook well it browned too fast so I put foil on. I also had to cook for 20 minutes longer. It's sweet enough. Overall not what I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
This bread is good, but lacks pineapple taste and is a little dry. You may try increasing the amount of crushed pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
4 eggs is too many for this recipe! 2 eggs is plenty. I did not like the flavor of the bread and also felt that it is a badly written recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This bread turned out fantastic! It was crispy on the top and bottom and moist on the inside, and not too sweet. It was even good cold days after. I did everything the recipe said, but added a little more crushed pineapple to use up what I had. Great recipe - I plan to make it again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I know pineapple and macadamia nuts are a good combo & I was looking for a recipe to use both of them. Despite the poor previous reviews of this recipe, I (over-confidently) thought I would be able to use the criticism constructively to better the recipe. I made the following changes - used a 20oz can of crushed undrained pineapple, used only 3 eggs, reduced amount of baking powder to 2 tsp, added 1.5 tsp of baking soda, and added about 1 tsp vanilla extract. Reading that other reviewers had issues with the baking time and "undone-ness" of the bread, I opted to put the batter into a 9" glass cake pan. I thought that the pan being less high would help even out the cooking (versus a loaf pan being a much THICKER volume to bake through). ANYWAY.... the cake itself needed a little extra baking time (I ended up covering with foil to prevent a burnt top) and the flavor of the bread was SO BLAND. I was expecting more pineapple flavor, especially after adding more pineapple (& its juice). Sadly, won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CdnJessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
If I could I'd give this one 3 1/2 stars. Therefore it gets the benefit of the doubt with 4 stars. I did feel this needed more flavor. I could barely taste the pineapple and the macadamia nuts really didn't add much to the flavor. Coconut might be a good addition to this recipe, along with some extra pineapple. I made pineapple cream cheese to serve wit this which helped a good bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Too heavy and tasteless. I made a pineapple glaze which helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States