Pineapple, Lime, and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
Well, being an American I found the soup to be a bit too salty and too sweet. I know, that comment was rather "Iron Chef" of me but it's true. It was not that bad but it was a little like drinking Indian salsa. I might try it again and play doctor with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
The flavor is interesting, but lacks the zing expected after reading the write-up. Additionally, crushed pineapple was not as apealing as pineapple chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
tHIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO GREAT!!!! I LOVE THAI AND INDAIN FOOD, AND THIS JUST HIT THE SPOT KIDDIES :p NEXT TIME, I THINK I'LL USE A LIL' LESS LIME JUICE, IT WAS A LIL' SOUR :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I loved this soup.It smelled great and had a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I was a little leery of adding tomatoes, but I went ahead and did it. This soup is so good! It's a great mixture of sweet and hot and just right. I served it with rice same as I would dal, and I can't wait to make it for Janmastami! Almost effortless and super quick on the stovetop. I think kids would love this recipe as it isn't too hot (though you could add more peppers-I used a jalapeno!) and it mingles with the rice in just the right way. Super!! Haribol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This was interesting. I really liked the idea of all the flavors together and it did smell wonderful, but something about it didn't do it for me. I think a smoother, rather than liquidy result I would have liked better - if I had pureed all the ingredients. It might have been better with a coconut milk base rather than water. I just had leftovers for lunch and it was really delightful - seems like the flavors needed time to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
wow. this soup was awesome. i love the spicy/sweet contradiction, and the acidity level was just right. i used half water and half coconut milk, starting with the milk, and eased up on the cumin. don't be frightened by the tomatoes; they're a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I thought this was tastey, but it lacked a lot. Hard to describe, as it had flavor, but was yet somehow still boring... I'll only make this again if I am sick and need a sinus clearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
the citrus was too strong for my likes. however, i used the rest of it as a marinade for tofu! just fry up the tofu in a skillet, cover with the "soup" and bake at 350 for 15 minutes and broil for 10 minutes. much improved! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I agree with another reviewer that something is just missing here. But I think it is a great recipe, so Im rating it a 4 hoping that I figure out what is missing. I think maybe it is too much pineapple and too little BLANK. No idea. I doubled the jalepeno and also purreed it when finished. Im going to eat it tomorrow chilled and see if that fixed the mystery problem. :-) Good luck, I think it is worse a try. - Okay, I have been eating this non-stop since I chilled it. It is great as a chilled pineapple soup on a hot day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States