Pineapple, Lime, and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Complex flavors. very good. I sliced one boneless skinless chicken breast really thin (stir-fry style). a little oil in pan and I stir-fried chicken and then proceeded with the recipe- used a very large jalapeno as my pepper- did not have fresh limes, so I used 2 tbls. of key lime juice-added extra cilantro (love that stuff)- will make again.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My changes to this recipe made it absolutely wonderful. Here's what you should add to your ingredient list: 1 red bell pepper (julienned) 1/2 yellow onion (chopped) 3 cloves of garlic (minced) 1 zucchini (quartered) 1/4 cup coconut milk 1 vegetable bouillon cube instead of the salt that the recipe calls for I also doubled the ginger/pepper/cumin mix (because you need to add more liquids to account for the extra veggies) and I left out the tomatoes. Begin by sauteing the onion and garlic and then add the bell pepper and zucchini--saute for a few minutes. Add 1 cup of water, ginger/pepper/cumin mix, pineapple and veggie bouillon cube--stir and bring to boil. Add half of the coconut milk and bring to a boil again. Add as much more water is desired for your soup--I added another cup, brought it to a boil. Then add the remaining coconut milk. I always taste my food as I go along. For me, it needed more salt so I added a little bit and I like spice so I added a little cayenne pepper. The soup turned out really good and I would highly recommend my version! I can't imagine this soup without the veggies--it seems it would be a bit boring. Enjoy my Thai inspired version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I'm sorry this had absolutely no flavor. In the end I doubled the pineapple and added 1 can of coconut milk. Thank fully I did not add the cilantro which would have really killed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Easy, Yes. I'm not sure how this recipe is anyone's idea of delicious, tho'. I followed the recipe but left out the cilantro and tomato. When it was done, at first taste, tasted like chunky hot salad dressing. Then following some recommendations, I added 1/2 can lite coconut milk and about 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut. Better, but still not good. The I added 1/2 can of Amy's cream of tomato soup and it GREATLY improved, surprisingly! I was going to dump it but now I'll let my family at least try it. You never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This soup is delicious! I added one maggi chicken stock cube and left out the salt. I also did not add as much lime as the recipe calls for and not as much water. One can add a little coconut milk if one desires, but it's equally good without it. Will definately make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This soup is better when pureed in small (very small) batches. I used less water too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Lerandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandera, Texas, USA
Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I have made this soup about three times and loved it, even though I did it a little different each time. Ive substituted salsa for the tomato, also used tomato soup concentrate, and subbed lemon for lime. I really like this soup, but it does have a lot of really strong flavors. Probably not for unadventurous eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I had this soup once at a restaurant and was so happy to find the recipe. I doubled the chilies and corriander and added chopped green onions and tofu, and used vegetable stock for extra flavour - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
oooooo a challenge. so here's what i did. i put the pepper, pineapple, ginger, cilantro, and lime in the blender. i used coconut milk instead of water and pureed it all. then i warmed the oil in a pot and added the soup; then added two teaspoons roasted red pepper chili paste and two tablespoons peanut butter, and heated until melted. i actually am sick, and had been looking forward to trying this recipe. i'm giving four stars because of all the modifications, but i know i'll make this again. this time i threw in some crab, but next time i'll probably add some tofu. i really agree with all the other reviews -- give this a try and modify to taste. it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is a little salty but I liked it. It is an easy recipe for when you dont have many ingredients in the cupboard! I served it with rice and I think next time I will add tofu, scallions, and rice noodles. It is an interesting recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States