Pineapple Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This cake was not bad, but did not have the flavor that I was expecting. I shared some of the cake with an elderly friend of mine, who was polite when asked how she liked it. Sorry Kim...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2000
What a wonderful light cake...my family loves it! I'm even serving to company tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
A cool, refreshing cake. I toasted a little bit of coconut to sprinkle on top. Didn't last long at our family gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I made it this morning and I cannot stay out of it! It is SO GOOD! Even one of my kitties likes it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUSSYFOOTER96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I originally gave this 3 stars, but I came back and upped it to 4 after tasting it again after it chilled overnight in the fridge. This is a lot tastier the second day. It really needed some time to let the flavors blend and mellow, otherwise, I only tasted a lot of lemon from the cake, and it overpowered everything else. By day two it was really smooth, light and refreshing, and something I think I will make again, but now I know to let it chill overnight before serving. Oh, and I used 12 oz. Cool Whip and it was almost too much, so I don't know why it calls for 16 oz. in the recipe, it would be spilling over the sides otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is a great recipe. For variety try this: I topped the crushed pineapple with banana slices, added a few drops of pina colada flavoring to the topping then garnished the top with shredded coconut, pineapple slices, and cherries. It was a big hit at our BBQ! A great summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
My Husband and I agreed that the cake had a good flavor (with the lemon and the pineapple juice) and the topping was delicious but we didn't like the texture of the pineapple. The cake was really moist and soft and then everyonce in awhile we would bite into a hard chunk of pineapple (and I had used the crushed). The cake was OK but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was great! I used white cake mix instead, and then added lemon pudding mix into the cake batter. Will make again. Perfect for a light summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike'z Girly
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was a hit!! I have made it twice already for two different parties and everyone loved it. I found you did not need 16oz of whipped topping 12oz was more than enough and you probably could get away with using 8oz. Both times I let the cake chill overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great light dessert! I served it with a choice of diced kiwi, strawberries and peaches just for color. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States