Pineapple Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I have made this recipe over and over without changing a thing and am completely satisfied by the outcome each time... as are my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
i doubled this recipe and placed in 9 by 13 inch pan. it was excellent. next time, however, i would choose to cover the kugel with foil and remove foil about 10-15 minutes before serving, so that kugel will brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was a really nice easy kugel. I left out the cherries and the pineapple rings, and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This has a very low key sugar flavor. I sprinkled it with confectionary sugar to sweeten up the final product, but would probably add 1/4 cup or more of sugar if serving it as a dessert. Beware of overcooking this; I checked it after 40 minutes and it was barely beginning to brown on top. After another 10 minutes it was golden, but also overcooked, meaning the egg was shaggy and the noodles dried out. Next time I will look for the middle to be set, instead of golden. I was not going to add the sliced pineapple on top, but was glad I did, both for appearance and overall taste. I substituted in whole maraschino cherries for the candied cherries and they worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was a nice lighter version of kugel. I served it at a brunch where there were several kugels. I noticed that this one was gobbled up and everyone finished their portion. I think I will put it in a smaller dish next time. I put foil on for the first thirty minutes but still some of the noodles seemed dry around the edges. A smaller dish may eliminate the dry edges. I left off the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was WONDERFUL! The whole family loved it. The recipe doesn't say crushed pineapple, but the directions mention it. I didn't use the sliced pineapple (forgot it) and nicely decorated the top w/ the cherries. On 1/2 of the kugel, I added raisins (1/2 the family likes raisins, the other half don't). I used a 16 oz can of crushed pineapple and so glad I did- YUMMY! I also used more noodles than the recipe (about 2-3 oz more). I know it's supposed to be a side dish, but I used it as my dessert and it was a smash! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Loved it! I thought 6 eggs sounded like alot, since I don't like the flavor of eggs too well. But it was great. The kids even ate this kugel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This kugel turned out well, i added extra vanilla and cinnamon. I liked it but husband prefers the creamier version he grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
It was easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States