Pineapple Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Folks, you should really review the base recipe, not the recipe after you've made lots of tasty modifications to it. ;-) The base recipe is very bland, but it's perfect to get started with - adding fresh garlic and ginger is a must. I'd also recommend adding a splash or two of rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I thought this was really good. I added garlic and ginger as some other reviewers suggested and the flavor wasn't bland at all. I also added baby corn and I used whole grain rice instead of white, which I thought went really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Well, this was rather bland but I took advice from others and added water chestnuts and extra soy sauce as well as some garlic and ginger. I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Better than I expected given the reviews, though I'd like the rice to be a little drier -- just a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
It turned out very dry, not as sweet as I expected. Didn't go over very well with me or my roommate. I had tons of leftovers that went bad. I would try it again if I added tons more juice. It just didn't have the flavor I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
We thought this had no flavor at all. This recipe needs a LOT more of everything besides rice and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
If you're looking for something to make similar to the Thai recipes this is not it. It was incredibly bland. After spending an hour in the kitchen making this, I was so disappointed when I sat down to eat it. We eat a lot of Thai and Indian food and this doesn't come close to what I have had in a restaurant. Don't bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Paulette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was great! I did make some modifications. I took the advice of others and sauteed garlic, green onions, and ginger first. I also added a bit of hoisin sauce when sauteeing the tofu. After I threw in the rice, I generously sprinkled curry powder. I also used water chestnuts for texture since I didn't have carrots on hand. I've never had pineapple fried rice with mushrooms, so maybe it's just my preference so I left those out and used red peppers. I cooked the rice in a rice cooker and I believe the sugar in the juice burned (not a lot, I just didn't use the rice that was burned). I've never had luck making rice in anything but a rice cooker. Is there a way to do it without burning the rice in the pot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
It came out very tasty--although I added cashews and bean sprouts and didn't end up putting the tofu or the mushrooms. Also I fried some fresh ginger and garlic in the oil before adding everything else, it gave it a more strong flavor. Cooking the rice in the pineapple juice is a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kibbutz Sde Boker, Mehoz Hadarom, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Not what I had in mind when I think of pineapple fried rice, the way they make it in Thailand. Something, actually a lot of things, is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States