Pineapple Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I rate this 5 stars because it actually does taste good and it's easy to understand. And let's face it, were are all on this site because we aren't gourmet chefs! The great thing about fried rice is you can vary it so many ways and to your liking. Sesame oil is a flavoring oil, so I suggest using it only at the end to mix in, not to cook with (use any cooking oil instead). You can mix in any type of meat and veggies; frozen mixed veggie are my choice and takes so much less time than fresh. But make sure you drain well and cut everything to the same bite sizes. It's very distracting to eat fried rice with big chunks along the way. Depending on your purpose - ie a side dish of mainly rice or as a main dish - alter how much of your proportions. I personally like fried rice as a main dish, and steamed white rice as a side. So think visually how much of the various ingredients - equal part dairy (egg), rice, meat, and vegatable. In fact, the rice should only be enough to "bind together" the other ingredients to get a good balanced meal. Same as if you had a side of rice, side of veggies, and meat. For meals, I use 1 egg per person. Make sure the rice is "firm" so you don't have soft mashy rice - the point is that the rice should be individual little pieces even when stir fried. For more egg taste, scramble them up by itself. For blended egg taste, put beaten egg in with the rice. You can even skip pre-adding seasonings; put them on the table for everyone as condiments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Next time I would increase the pineapple and decrease the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
We LOVE this. I double the recipe so that I have leftovers. I don't add the salt; I think the soy is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Super good! I replaced the ham with chicken and used 2 cups rice ... Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aestopellan
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made this recipe yesterday and it came put really good. I added peanuts, dry red chillis and mixed vegetables instead of just having the green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made this recipe last night and it was delicious! I added red cabbage, orange bell pepper, snap peas, red wine, teriyaki sauce, and extra soy sauce that gave it an pea nutty flavor. I think this will be one of my favorite recipes in the future the taste was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Photo by Anyssia
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Very good, very filling. Need to remember to drain the pineapple in advance though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anyssia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Pretty good and easy to make. Way too salty though. I will omit the salt next time. I think the soy sauce has plenty enough salt for this recipe. Added a little chopped red bell pepper for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe. I did make some changes though. I left out the ham (I'm vegetarian) and added broccoli and carrots. I added a 1/4 cup of pineapple juice to the soy sauce. Used half the amount of salt. I left out the sugar and used maple syrup. I also cooked everything in coconut oil. Very tasty. Even my 3 year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States