Pineapple Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is a good recipe although I've tweaked it around to make it just like in our favorite Thai restaurant: add chicken and/or shrimp as well as the ham. I season the chicken with oyster sauce and some cinnamon. We also add cashew nuts and use mixed veggies, not just peas. Our favorite restaurant adds some cherry tomatoes, but we're not whole-tomato-people in our house, so I skip that part, although tomato lovers might find it a good addition. Also, I get pineapple chunks in 100% pineapple juice, and when I drain the pineapple I DO keep the juice. I then mix up about half of it with the soy sauce and add it to the rice. We rather use a bit more soy sauce and less (or no) salt. And finally, a trick I learned from my mom: I don't use the sesame oil to stir fry. For that I use regular vegetable oil or cooking spray made of real oil. But I do sprinkle sesame oil at the end, for better aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
So good! I used jasmine rice and cooked it with coconut milk instead of water. I also substituted shrimp for the ham and added raisins and cashews. Yummy. My husband raved and raved about it- thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was a real hit at our house. I cooked the rice in the rice cooker. I omitted the salt as the soy is very salty. I added yellow and red bell peppers. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was very good. When I boiled the rice I added the pineapple juice and a little soy to the water. Also I use ponzu instead of regular soy sauce, and some grape tomatoes, chicken, shrimp and the ham. Make a lot, you'll love the leftovers later. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was pretty good. I made a few modifications. Chicken instead of ham. Omitted the onions. Twice as much peas and pineapple. Two eggs. And some carrots. A yummy alternative to normal fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Oh so good! I used chicken, regular onions, and frozen mixed vegetables. Totally scored bonus points with the fiance! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was very good. Next time, I will cut back on the amount of soy sauce, skip the sugar, and not drain the pineapple. I may ruin it, but I think it will give me a smoother flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisAnomaly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Good! I was skeptical of the sugar but it tasted nice with the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight and it was delightful! My husband had at least three helpings, and he's not even that crazy about anything even remotely asian or soy-sauce-ish. My kids ate it too without too much prodding. I made the "Thai-Style Peanut Sauce with Honey" from this site to serve on the side....awesome.....also served with thai sweet chili sauce. Fresh cucumber slices and blue cheese dressing on the side. GOOD MEAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I used half water/half pineapple liquid to cook the rice. Used brown sugar instead of white, and also added a little bit more pineapple juice when adding the soy. Omitted the salt, and the egg because I'm not a big fan. Also just used canola oil then added the sesame oil with the soy for flavor. Husband really liked this when I made it with grilled honey teriyaki chicken legs, grilled pineapple rings, and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States