Pineapple Fried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was amazing! However, i think that 3 cups of liquid would be too much, as the normal quinoa ratio is 1:2. So i only used 2c water, used sesame oil b/c i didn't have peanut, used a yellow onion as that's all I had on hand, and didn't have cilantro. Also, didn't add pepper flakes as I thought it was spicy enough. My husband and I loved it and will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Fabulous! I did decrease the chili oil by 1 Tablespoon to lower the heat, and I don't think it needs that much oil anyway. We are meat eaters, so to make a heartier meal I also pan fry some chopped Mango Chicken Sausage (from Trader Joe's) to add to the mix. Have made it multiple times to rave reviews - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is actually pretty good! I overdid my quinoa and didn't chop my pineapple as much as I should... but it was still great. Could be healthier without the yolk. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tega Cay, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
my wife and I made this today and it was really good, we both like quinoa and look forward to cooking it more often although there does'nt seem to be a lot of recipes for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good with a bit of a spicy 'bite" to it! My son-in-law begged for the recipe. Due to what I had on hand, I subbed olive oil for peanut oil, more broth for the water, a small diced white onion for the green onion, used canned pineapple tidbits and added 1 1/2 cups diced cooked ham to make it a satisfying main dish. Blend of flavors was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S-Zirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
SO GOOD! Loved this recipe. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and omitted the cilantro. I also added in some seitan (faux meat) because I am a vegetarian. This was so tasty and I will surly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This dish is delicious! I went ahead and gave it a try because it required all of the odd-ball ingredients my bare pantry had to offer tonight -- I was prepared for mediocre but wow, am I happy to report that this is fantastic! I had only 2 eggs so I diced up a left-over baked chicken breast, and I added a stalk of celery that needed to be eaten. Heeding previous reviews I didn't used as much soy sauce as called for initially but really, it needed that 1/4 cup; and I added a TBSP of canola oil because I didn't have enough peanut oil. My boyfriend and I are ready to make this again with pork, or shrimp, a little ginger, red bell pepper...you get the idea. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
My guy, who's not yet used to the texture of quinoa LOVED this... Nice flavor, used fresh pineapple. Used sesame oil + canola oil instead of peanut oil. Used garlic chili sauce instead of chili oil as I didn't have it on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coralie
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Boyfriend LOVED it! Asks for it constantly. I've made it several times, but last night I made it with deep fried tofu also and I even loved it. It's a great recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love quinoa, although I have never made it before. My husband is not very adventurous and probably wouldn't have tried it if I had told him what it was before I set the plate in front of him. I just told him it was "like pineapple fried rice, but with a different grain" and he gave it a go. He loved it, which says a lot! My kids and I loved it, too. It makes a lot, or at least I thought, but everyone wanted extra helpings, so it didn't last long. I will definitely be making this again (and now I'll probably be able to get the hubby to try more quinoa dishes, as well.) I made it exact to recipe, except I used probably a full cup of canned crushed pineapple -- however much was in a standard size can. Crushed is the perfect size so you get some pineapple in each bite. This was fantastic, and very easy, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States