Pineapple Fried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
my wife and I made this today and it was really good, we both like quinoa and look forward to cooking it more often although there does'nt seem to be a lot of recipes for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is actually pretty good! I overdid my quinoa and didn't chop my pineapple as much as I should... but it was still great. Could be healthier without the yolk. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tega Cay, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
SO GOOD! Loved this recipe. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and omitted the cilantro. I also added in some seitan (faux meat) because I am a vegetarian. This was so tasty and I will surly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good with a bit of a spicy 'bite" to it! My son-in-law begged for the recipe. Due to what I had on hand, I subbed olive oil for peanut oil, more broth for the water, a small diced white onion for the green onion, used canned pineapple tidbits and added 1 1/2 cups diced cooked ham to make it a satisfying main dish. Blend of flavors was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S-Zirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This dish is delicious! I went ahead and gave it a try because it required all of the odd-ball ingredients my bare pantry had to offer tonight -- I was prepared for mediocre but wow, am I happy to report that this is fantastic! I had only 2 eggs so I diced up a left-over baked chicken breast, and I added a stalk of celery that needed to be eaten. Heeding previous reviews I didn't used as much soy sauce as called for initially but really, it needed that 1/4 cup; and I added a TBSP of canola oil because I didn't have enough peanut oil. My boyfriend and I are ready to make this again with pork, or shrimp, a little ginger, red bell pepper...you get the idea. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
My guy, who's not yet used to the texture of quinoa LOVED this... Nice flavor, used fresh pineapple. Used sesame oil + canola oil instead of peanut oil. Used garlic chili sauce instead of chili oil as I didn't have it on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was amazing! However, i think that 3 cups of liquid would be too much, as the normal quinoa ratio is 1:2. So i only used 2c water, used sesame oil b/c i didn't have peanut, used a yellow onion as that's all I had on hand, and didn't have cilantro. Also, didn't add pepper flakes as I thought it was spicy enough. My husband and I loved it and will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Fabulous! I did decrease the chili oil by 1 Tablespoon to lower the heat, and I don't think it needs that much oil anyway. We are meat eaters, so to make a heartier meal I also pan fry some chopped Mango Chicken Sausage (from Trader Joe's) to add to the mix. Have made it multiple times to rave reviews - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coralie
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Boyfriend LOVED it! Asks for it constantly. I've made it several times, but last night I made it with deep fried tofu also and I even loved it. It's a great recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love quinoa, although I have never made it before. My husband is not very adventurous and probably wouldn't have tried it if I had told him what it was before I set the plate in front of him. I just told him it was "like pineapple fried rice, but with a different grain" and he gave it a go. He loved it, which says a lot! My kids and I loved it, too. It makes a lot, or at least I thought, but everyone wanted extra helpings, so it didn't last long. I will definitely be making this again (and now I'll probably be able to get the hubby to try more quinoa dishes, as well.) I made it exact to recipe, except I used probably a full cup of canned crushed pineapple -- however much was in a standard size can. Crushed is the perfect size so you get some pineapple in each bite. This was fantastic, and very easy, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States