Pineapple Fried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love quinoa, although I have never made it before. My husband is not very adventurous and probably wouldn't have tried it if I had told him what it was before I set the plate in front of him. I just told him it was "like pineapple fried rice, but with a different grain" and he gave it a go. He loved it, which says a lot! My kids and I loved it, too. It makes a lot, or at least I thought, but everyone wanted extra helpings, so it didn't last long. I will definitely be making this again (and now I'll probably be able to get the hubby to try more quinoa dishes, as well.) I made it exact to recipe, except I used probably a full cup of canned crushed pineapple -- however much was in a standard size can. Crushed is the perfect size so you get some pineapple in each bite. This was fantastic, and very easy, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very good. I added frozen peas to get more veggies, used yellow onion instead of green, and only 2 eggs. The flavor was excellent! So glad to have a new way to use quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was amazing! However, i think that 3 cups of liquid would be too much, as the normal quinoa ratio is 1:2. So i only used 2c water, used sesame oil b/c i didn't have peanut, used a yellow onion as that's all I had on hand, and didn't have cilantro. Also, didn't add pepper flakes as I thought it was spicy enough. My husband and I loved it and will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
One word - YUM! My boyfriend even loved it which is a huge deal as he's a meat and potatoes guy. I made the quinoa in the rice cooker ahead of time. Then I added chili flakes and oil to a pan and cooked up chicken, added the garlic, onions and cilantro, then added egg. When the egg was cooked, I added quinoa to the pan, used a couple dashes of soy sauce and a few squirts of Siracha sauce. So good. I've been telling everyone about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Fabulous! I did decrease the chili oil by 1 Tablespoon to lower the heat, and I don't think it needs that much oil anyway. We are meat eaters, so to make a heartier meal I also pan fry some chopped Mango Chicken Sausage (from Trader Joe's) to add to the mix. Have made it multiple times to rave reviews - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Five cloves of garlic is overkill. I would recommend one clove, maybe two if you really like garlic. Also, there is too much extra liquid in the recipe. The texture was too soft right out of the skillet and the leftovers were very mushy, more like oatmeal than quinoa. I'd recommend leaving out the cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good with a bit of a spicy 'bite" to it! My son-in-law begged for the recipe. Due to what I had on hand, I subbed olive oil for peanut oil, more broth for the water, a small diced white onion for the green onion, used canned pineapple tidbits and added 1 1/2 cups diced cooked ham to make it a satisfying main dish. Blend of flavors was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S-Zirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I also added ham like another reviewer for more protein which was great. Yummy with a good mix of flavors. Not quite a 5 star for me - I tend not to measure too much and just toss things in and ended wishing I had added a bit MORE spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I nice spicey rendition to my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coralie
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Boyfriend LOVED it! Asks for it constantly. I've made it several times, but last night I made it with deep fried tofu also and I even loved it. It's a great recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States