Pineapple Fried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I used the recipe more for inspiration and have a few recommended changes. Liquid to quinoa should be a 2:1 ratio. It came out to mushy and wasn't able to fry as well. I also used a miso-ginger broth from Trader Joe's instead of the chicken broth. I added some more veggies, including mushrooms and red bell pepper. To make it a more complete meal, I poached chicken in the miso-ginger brother and added it on top. Yum! I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Gelzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This good but I added brown rice with the quinoa which made it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My first time cooking with quinoa. Delicious! Served with Asian marinated pork chops from this site. Ended with a happy and full husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmkendall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was delicious & easy to make. Even my picky 3 year old ate it! I cooked the quinoa in broth only - I didn't add the extra cup of water - and it was still pretty wet once it was cooked. I omitted the pepper to keep the heat down for the kiddo, used low sodium soy sauce & reduced it to 3 Tbsp, and subbed 1/2 of a yellow onion since I had no green onions on hand. We got almost 5 (just shy of 1-cup each)servings out of this recipe - it makes a lot. Served it with grilled teriyaki chicken & steamed broccoli. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Have made this several times now, but made quite a few changes. I use 2 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth or even just water) to cook the quinoa and it doesn't change the flavor. 2 cloves of garlic is plenty, 2 eggs and I don't bother with the onion or cilantro. Have yet to try the peanut oil or chili oil, I just use 2 TBSP EVOO and then add chili powder. Also, I only use 2 TBSP of low sodium soy sauce. I prepare it on Sunday night to have for lunch during the week. I usually just eat it cold. So yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commerce, Georgia, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Good, but I added half the soy sauce and it was still fine that way. Very creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
We didn't expect much from this recipe, as quinoa doesn't have a lot of flavour on its own but has my hubby said "It was the surprise star of the meal!". Everything worked well together and even after a day in the fridge, the quinoa didn't get all dried out like rice sometimes does. We would serve this to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
One word - YUM! My boyfriend even loved it which is a huge deal as he's a meat and potatoes guy. I made the quinoa in the rice cooker ahead of time. Then I added chili flakes and oil to a pan and cooked up chicken, added the garlic, onions and cilantro, then added egg. When the egg was cooked, I added quinoa to the pan, used a couple dashes of soy sauce and a few squirts of Siracha sauce. So good. I've been telling everyone about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I also added ham like another reviewer for more protein which was great. Yummy with a good mix of flavors. Not quite a 5 star for me - I tend not to measure too much and just toss things in and ended wishing I had added a bit MORE spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very good. I added frozen peas to get more veggies, used yellow onion instead of green, and only 2 eggs. The flavor was excellent! So glad to have a new way to use quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States