Pineapple Fried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This good but I added brown rice with the quinoa which made it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My first time cooking with quinoa. Delicious! Served with Asian marinated pork chops from this site. Ended with a happy and full husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmkendall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was delicious & easy to make. Even my picky 3 year old ate it! I cooked the quinoa in broth only - I didn't add the extra cup of water - and it was still pretty wet once it was cooked. I omitted the pepper to keep the heat down for the kiddo, used low sodium soy sauce & reduced it to 3 Tbsp, and subbed 1/2 of a yellow onion since I had no green onions on hand. We got almost 5 (just shy of 1-cup each)servings out of this recipe - it makes a lot. Served it with grilled teriyaki chicken & steamed broccoli. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Have made this several times now, but made quite a few changes. I use 2 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth or even just water) to cook the quinoa and it doesn't change the flavor. 2 cloves of garlic is plenty, 2 eggs and I don't bother with the onion or cilantro. Have yet to try the peanut oil or chili oil, I just use 2 TBSP EVOO and then add chili powder. Also, I only use 2 TBSP of low sodium soy sauce. I prepare it on Sunday night to have for lunch during the week. I usually just eat it cold. So yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commerce, Georgia, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Good, but I added half the soy sauce and it was still fine that way. Very creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
We didn't expect much from this recipe, as quinoa doesn't have a lot of flavour on its own but has my hubby said "It was the surprise star of the meal!". Everything worked well together and even after a day in the fridge, the quinoa didn't get all dried out like rice sometimes does. We would serve this to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
One word - YUM! My boyfriend even loved it which is a huge deal as he's a meat and potatoes guy. I made the quinoa in the rice cooker ahead of time. Then I added chili flakes and oil to a pan and cooked up chicken, added the garlic, onions and cilantro, then added egg. When the egg was cooked, I added quinoa to the pan, used a couple dashes of soy sauce and a few squirts of Siracha sauce. So good. I've been telling everyone about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I also added ham like another reviewer for more protein which was great. Yummy with a good mix of flavors. Not quite a 5 star for me - I tend not to measure too much and just toss things in and ended wishing I had added a bit MORE spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very good. I added frozen peas to get more veggies, used yellow onion instead of green, and only 2 eggs. The flavor was excellent! So glad to have a new way to use quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love quinoa, although I have never made it before. My husband is not very adventurous and probably wouldn't have tried it if I had told him what it was before I set the plate in front of him. I just told him it was "like pineapple fried rice, but with a different grain" and he gave it a go. He loved it, which says a lot! My kids and I loved it, too. It makes a lot, or at least I thought, but everyone wanted extra helpings, so it didn't last long. I will definitely be making this again (and now I'll probably be able to get the hubby to try more quinoa dishes, as well.) I made it exact to recipe, except I used probably a full cup of canned crushed pineapple -- however much was in a standard size can. Crushed is the perfect size so you get some pineapple in each bite. This was fantastic, and very easy, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States