Pineapple Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
OMG… THESE WERE INCREDIBLE!! I followed the recipe exactly as written except added an 8 ounce can of plain tomato sauce to the enchilada sauce to increase the amount of the sauce and to “tone down” the spiciness. I also added the juice from the crushed pineapple as well. I dumped the canned pineapple into a colander directly over the saucepan full of sauce. I also simmered for about 30 minutes to reduce the water but retain the flavor. I used whole wheat tortillas and extra sour cream and made about 4 fat enchiladas. I recommend laying the tortillas (like pizzas) on a clean kitchen counter to evenly distribute the filling and to keep the sizes of the enchiladas consistent before rolling them and placing them in a baking dish . They will cook more evenly and the presentation will be nicer. TY Jessie for this recipe and will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This dish is amazing. Here's what I did: I used the same amounts of crushed pineapple (drained, of course) and enchilada sauce (although I used red chunky taco sauce because my grocery store didn't have enchilada sauce). I did use a cup of sour cream (as others suggested) , added sliced black olives, a can of chicken breast (I shredded it) and a can of diced green chilis. I also used a Monterey Jack and Cheddar blend in leiu of the cheddar. This dish was OUTSTANDING! Perfect for summertime! My bf was VERY skeptical about this but he just finished two enchiladas and was mmmmmmmming the whole time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
The best thing about this recipe is how easy it is. The bad is that for me it was almost overwhelmingly sweet by the end of one piece. I'm going to try this again, with a little less pineapple, and some chopped green pepper or onion or green chilies added to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Very good recipe as is. Second time I made it, I added chunked chicken and white rice to give the filling a little more substance. Good conversation piece for dinner parties. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Yum, yum, yummy! What an interesting concept! I too LOVE pineapple on my pizza, so I just had to try this. I thought at first the crushed pineapple would make them mushy, so I used chunk pineapple (drained first). Boy oh boy did the chunks get hot in the oven! Next time, I'll stick with crushed to save my scalded mouth! I doubled (at least) the sour cream and added some chopped green chiles. I think next time I'll try it with corn tortillas (personal preference) for an even better flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent!! I've made this a few times before and thought it was a little bland, but this time I got it right!! Make sure to squeeze the pineapple to get rid of most of the juice. Add 1-2 tsp. diced jalapenos and a few splashes of hot sauce to the filling mixture. Use hot enchilada sauce instead of mild. It might be beneficial to spray the pan with cooking spray first, mine stuck to the bottom. Serve with a side of sour cream. Very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I LOVED this! I am a very big fan of pineapple (especially when its in places you don't expect it) This recipe was just what I was looking for. I increased the amount of sour cream and used pineapple tidbits. The only other change I would recommend is removing the cover during the last 10 minutes or so of cooking so that the cheese browns up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
WOWZERS!!! These were suprisingly delicious! I added some roasted red peppers, red onion, and a little bit of chopped jalapeno. It was a great marriage of sweet and spicy flavors. We just loved these and will make them again and again! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I wish I had read the reviews before making this as the pineapple definitely needs to be drained. While I enjoyed these very much, some additional sour cream and green chiles would have made these even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This recipie needs 2x as much sour cream and a bit more enchilada sauce, but is very easy and very delicious. You can even add cooked chicken to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States