Pineapple Curry Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I think the problem with this recipe as written is using pure pineapple juice as the liquid. Looking at other reviews, those who used some water had better results, and googling using fruit juice to cook rice shows recipes that use half juice, half water for the liquid. I used my electric rice maker to make this recipe and used as much juice as the amount of water recommended in the manual. My rice came out crunchy, for the first time in over 4 years of regularly making rice this way. I liked the flavor (I subbed regular salt for celery salt), so I'll try again, but using half juice, half water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I was short on the juice with only about one cup, so I added a cup of water to make a two-one ration. I also upped the cooking time to about 20 minutes. The rice came out cooked to perfection. I must say that, as curry lovers, my husband and I found this to have a bit too much curry. I will make it again but reduce the curry by at least half. For those of you who have a problem with rice sticking to the pan, make sure you reduce heat to as low as possible. If you still have problems, coat your pan with a tad of vegi oil, though in this recipe, the butter should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I had great hopes for this recipe, in spite of the mixed reviews. I generally have no problem with rice, in fact I have a reputation for making perfect rice everytime. Not this time, though. I knew that 10 minutes would not be long enough to cook the rice, so I cooked it for the traditional 20 minutes. When I removed the pan lid, I found the hard rice all stuck to the bottom of the pan, and the pineapple juice bubbling merrily away on the top. I hurriedly scraped the bottom of the pan, and the rice wasn't burnt, just a bit toasty, so I covered the pan and cooked it for another 10 minutes. By that time, the rice had absorbed most of the juice, but it was blown-out and gluey. I didn't care for the flavors either. Between this recipe and another unsuccessful recipe from this site, dinner last night was a disaster. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
My husband and I loved this rice! Wow! I used 1 cup juice and 1 cup water for 1 cup of Jasmine rice. I also omitted the celery salt and add dash regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
It was pretty good considering the trouble I went through to get it cooked. It definetly needed more liquid. I suggest 1/2 pineapple & 1/2 water. I will definetly make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yadkinville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
It came out pretty dry even after adjusting the liquids to 2 cups and covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This has a good flavor and the curry powder gives it a nice "kick". We prepared this with pineapple juice and brown sugar marinated porkchops and it was a nice compliment. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Although I was searching for a recipe for rice cooked in pineapple juice, this turned out not to be what I was looking for. My family did not care for this dish. I believe it was the celery salt that did it. My husband thought it had a "pickle" flavor. Also, I only used about 1/2 tsp of curry, as I didn't want it to overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This didn't come out quite a good as it sounded. I served it with Peanut Butter Noodles (recipe also found on this site), and that saved it somewhat, but by itself it was not great. The pineapple flavour was pretty much lost to all the curry, and the rice came out crunchy and had to be cooked longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States