Pineapple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Excellent! I have been searching for a way to bake with fresh pineapple. All my muffins, cookies and cakes have crumbled - possibly because of the acidity? Anyways, a crisp is the perfect solution and this one is easy. I used self-rising flour instead of added baking powder and salt and I halved the butter and sugar because that suits my preferences. I think I'll experiment with adding some coconut and cashews for a truly tropical treat. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
We enjoyed this as a nice change from more "traditional" fruit crisps. I used 1 can crushed/1 can chunks (for texture), but it would definitely be better with fresh pineapple. My husband thought it was great as-is, but my personal opinion is that the pineapple layer is a bit bland so next time I will mix some brown sugar and spices into it, as well as putting it on the top. Also, I will cut the flour down by half as I felt it drowned out the sugary, spicy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is absolutely delicious, Bea! It takes no time at all to prepare, and was better than we had expected. As another reviewer, I think the "smooth" descriptor of the crumb topping is a bit misleading. It came together kind of like the consistency of moist sand for me, and I sprinkled it over the pineapple. I did spray my 9x9 first, because I was a little weary of sticking. Next time I might use 1 can of crushed, and 1 can of tidbits, but otherwise there's no adjustment necessary for a quick and easy weekday dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was too sweet. If you like eating sugar then make it, if not, do not make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
We just got back from Hawaii and had a family picnic to go to. We were still feeling the island spirit so we were looking for something that would travel well and be made with pineapple. This did it! The only things I changed were that I added shaved coconut to the topping mixture (and reduced flour by 1/4 cup in place of the coconut) and before I poured the butter on top I sprinkled chopped macadamia nuts for that extra Hawaiian flair. This was a hit! Will definitely make again, perhaps with some chunks of pineapple vs crushed. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarepta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
this is an interesting recipe- at first-bite, i wasn't sure if i liked it or not, but it definitely grew on me and now im addicted! the bf liked it warm, but i preferred it cold the next day. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have always wondered why they always tell you to drain the juice out in pineapple recipes generally - that's where most of the flavour is! So, I am making this with the juice boiled down & then mixed with the melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This isn't knock-your-socks-off-good but I'm giving it five stars because it is really delicious and just so easy. My guests made lots of yummy sounds :). I did 1/2 cup dark and 1/2 cup light brown sugar; just 1/4 cup Earth Balance margarine; one can crushed pineapple and one can tidbits; and I went crazy with the cinnamon! Make sure you drain the pineapple really well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this tastes amazing! few changes: i use 3-4 fresh pineapples, add some brown sugar to the pineapple, use 1/4 cup butter, and sprinkle cinnamon and white sugar generously on top before baking. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very good dessert. Rich and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States