Pineapple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
While my boys love the older type with plain crust...their wives prefer this recipe because of the cornstarch texture and grahamcracker crust and whipped cream topping so this receipe at least works here in the Pacific NW. However I couldn't cook the reciepe with cornstarch with the older family in Texas so I have to go back to the older way of doing it. My family is famous for their pineapple cream pie..but we make it with plain prebaked piecrust.. and we don't add eggs to first mixture... only AFTER the cream mixture thickens. We then remove from heat, temper the lightly beatten eggs before adding. Once eggs mixed well...we add butter and vanilla or whatever flavoring you use and beat till shiny. . (My great grandma used flour instead of cornstarch and got a more old-time texture that holds up well if you want to refrig and then slighly warm. Also the flour type holds up better if left out under the table cloth of the holdiay table for the later supper. Since they were dirt farmers...corn-starch was not always available and flour made pies held up well to being able to set out in cupbords, less weeping or watery separation if you use meringue instead of whipped cream. Anyone remember the way southern country folks tended to have their dining rooms unheated...then after sunday dinner after church...all left overs dishes and desserts are left on the table and covered with a clean bleached table cloth and left till supper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
Found this pie on the bland side. (I am a pineapple lover). I will add 1/2 cup of the pineapple juice and decrease the milk by 1/2 cup for my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
DO NOT use fresh pineapple in this pie. There are enzymes in fresh pineapple that break down the custard. That's why AMELIAJEAN had so much trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this for the first time for Father's Day because my dad is a pineapple fiend! It was unbelieveably good! I made a few modifications: cut milk by 1/2 cup and added a 1/2 cup of pineapple juice, cut 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and replaced with 1 teaspoon of pineapple extract. When made with these modifications, this pie is perfect and probably would be even if you don't have pineapple extract. I also used the "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" recipe from this site which turns out flaky and perfect every time! You will end up with extra filling but I just put it in a dish and one of my kids enjoyed it as homemade pudding:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k2 kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
A yummy unique twist on plain cream pie, and the almond in the cream is a great idea. Tasty..but don't forget the no tasting rule!! IF you taste it while cooking and then use the same spoon to stir again, a cream pie WON'T SET. (it's a saliva enzyme thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I did not make my own whipped cream, instead I bought extra creamy whipped topping and added almond extract. Oh my gosh, so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. When I made it the first time I had to much filling for a 9 inch deep dish pie shell, so I used only 2 cups of milk instead of 3 like the recipe calls for, and I added 1/2 cup of coconut. Now this is the most wonderful pie, and just the right amount for the deep dish pie shell. I have made it many times, and each time someone new tries it, they just love it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great flavor combination of the whipped cream, crust and pineapple cream. I had never heard of a pineapple cream pie before but love pineapple. Foolishly I didn't drain the pineapple so the pie was a little runny by my mistake, but still tasted great. I will definately make this again and next time will remember the drain the pineapple. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I don't know what I did, but this turned out terribly--it was bitter and the filling never solidified; it was like a pudding. A very not-good pudding. Perhaps I screwed up . . . it looked like a wonderful recipe. I loathe the loss of a whole fresh pineapple, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This pie was a huge hit for my Dad's 6oth birthday. He loved it and so did everyone else. It was wickedly easy to make and I discovered it is a GREAT base for any cream pie. This one will stay with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Texas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States