Pineapple Coconut Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by nilla
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe is wonderful but I think it need more spices. Not different spices, just more of what it already calls for. I added almost twice as much and it was still pretty subtle spice flavor. I made some into muffins and some in mini loaf pans. I added walnuts on top of some and left others without. It's definitely ultra moist, it would almost be difficult to overbake this. I like my quick breads really moist and tend to take them out earlier than most people - before the toothpick comes out clean. With this bread, make sure it's all the way done otherwise it turns kind of gummy after sitting overnight but still really really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I had to use margarine instead of the oil and omit the sour cream because I was out of both, and I doubled the coconut because DH loves it. It's super moist and a good snack bread, but the coconut taste wasn't noticeable at all, even when I had doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This bread is very moist and a has nice flavor..I thought you would taste the pineapple and coconut more though. I might add more coconut next time and maybe some nuts. Since the sugar was so high in this recipe I halved it and used Splenda and Splenda Brown Sugar for the other halves and nobody even noticed. I also used Fat Free sour cream. Thank you for a good recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Tastes grrrrreat! Next time I am going to use freshly chopped pineapple instead of canned (very bland) because I has more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazyforkookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Delicious variation of zucchini bread. I used leftover grilled pineapple instead of the canned (as I had none) along with about 8 minced maraschino cherries (had to find something to use them in) and toasted coconut. Since the pineapple was rendered of a lot of moisture from the previous night's grilling, the bread had little pockets of concentrated pineapple flavor with flecks of cherry. The toasted coconut, however, got lost with the shredded zucchini, so next time I'll reserve the coconut as a topping since I really wanted that flavor to come through. Thanks, SuzyQ, for a bread I'm sure I'll make often this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I substituted apple sauce for the oil in this recipe and halved the sugar. Everything else I followed to the letter. Although the loaf looks beautiful and golden in the pan, it's taste is bland and very mild. Next time I will a tiny bit more salt, butter flavoring and more cinnamon. Moist and dense with a very nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Gave me a chance to use up some reduced zucchini and coconut I had in the freezer for quite a while. Moist, with a wonderful flavour. I did used apple sauce instead of oil and would maybe cut back a little on the sugar next time. Will definitely make again (hubby loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This bread was very good! I didn't have sour cream so I made it without and it was still very very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
What a great recipe. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Moist, flavorful, and such a wonderful way to use up an abundance of zucchini this season! Having read about excess moisture in zucchini, I squeezed excess and drained pineapple the first time. I I would not drain both next time...maybe just the pineapple. Also I didn't have coconut in the house and substituted w/ oatmeal and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States