Pineapple Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I tripled this recipe for a dessert for a Jamaican party. I used 2 -20 oz cans of drained crushed pineapple. I baked it in a very large sheet cake pan. I saved some of the pineapple juice and mixed it with powdered sugar and piped it over the bars like a strudel effect. There were only crumbs left. I agree that vanilla ice cream would be wonderful with the bars, and macadamia nuts might be good in them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made this dish for a graduation party and it was a rave! People loved the light, refreshing taste on a warm summer day. I would certainly top it with vanilla bean ice cream next time I serve it in a smaller setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeschu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Very good and I will no doubt make this again...I served it with vanilla ice cream, rum sauce, and chopped nuts...next time I will add nuts to the cake batter...macadamia or pecans...Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
really good. I added extra pineapple to make them even chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Don't give a recipe a bad review when you jack it up with your own substitutions!!! I have made this several times as written and they turn out great with requests for the recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I made this for a Luau party and it was a big hit. I did not change anything. I thought they didn't look very appealing because they were hard to cut cleanly because of the coconut and moistness. They didn't look horrible but not as presentable as I like my dishes. Looks aside, everyone said "those are really yummy" after the 1st bite and there were none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made these in mini cup cake pans. I didn't have shortening so I used butter instead. Also had 20 oz can of crushed pineapple & used the entire can (squeeze juice out really good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have shortening so used butter which seemed fine. As well, I cut the brown sugar in half for the batter and later sprinkled a handful of it on top before baking. Yum! I also used about a cup and a half of pineapple and a half a cup of the juice. Then used 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of flaked coconut to help thicken the batter because of the extra fluid. I substituted vanilla extract for the rum. Lol it sounds like I didn't follow the recipe at all but I think the essence of it was retained. Will definitely keep making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I rated this four stars only because I made a few changes: I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup butter; I used vanilla-NOT rum-and with the absence of coconut, used oats. The pineapple was in chunks, so I chopped them smaller to make 2 cups (Resembling more of pineapple bits). Since I made a 9x13” pan, it had to bake 30-50 minutes. It was very moist, very pine-apply (I used Dole), and very yummy! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was good, but left out the coconut and put in walnuts, after I took it out of the oven I drizzled some icing on top that i made with powdered sugar, milk and vanilla it was almost like an upside down pineapple cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States