Pineapple Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I tripled this recipe for a dessert for a Jamaican party. I used 2 -20 oz cans of drained crushed pineapple. I baked it in a very large sheet cake pan. I saved some of the pineapple juice and mixed it with powdered sugar and piped it over the bars like a strudel effect. There were only crumbs left. I agree that vanilla ice cream would be wonderful with the bars, and macadamia nuts might be good in them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made this dish for a graduation party and it was a rave! People loved the light, refreshing taste on a warm summer day. I would certainly top it with vanilla bean ice cream next time I serve it in a smaller setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeschu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Very good and I will no doubt make this again...I served it with vanilla ice cream, rum sauce, and chopped nuts...next time I will add nuts to the cake batter...macadamia or pecans...Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
really good. I added extra pineapple to make them even chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Don't give a recipe a bad review when you jack it up with your own substitutions!!! I have made this several times as written and they turn out great with requests for the recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I made this for a Luau party and it was a big hit. I did not change anything. I thought they didn't look very appealing because they were hard to cut cleanly because of the coconut and moistness. They didn't look horrible but not as presentable as I like my dishes. Looks aside, everyone said "those are really yummy" after the 1st bite and there were none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made these in mini cup cake pans. I didn't have shortening so I used butter instead. Also had 20 oz can of crushed pineapple & used the entire can (squeeze juice out really good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have shortening so used butter which seemed fine. As well, I cut the brown sugar in half for the batter and later sprinkled a handful of it on top before baking. Yum! I also used about a cup and a half of pineapple and a half a cup of the juice. Then used 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of flaked coconut to help thicken the batter because of the extra fluid. I substituted vanilla extract for the rum. Lol it sounds like I didn't follow the recipe at all but I think the essence of it was retained. Will definitely keep making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I rated this four stars only because I made a few changes: I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup butter; I used vanilla-NOT rum-and with the absence of coconut, used oats. The pineapple was in chunks, so I chopped them smaller to make 2 cups (Resembling more of pineapple bits). Since I made a 9x13” pan, it had to bake 30-50 minutes. It was very moist, very pine-apply (I used Dole), and very yummy! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was good, but left out the coconut and put in walnuts, after I took it out of the oven I drizzled some icing on top that i made with powdered sugar, milk and vanilla it was almost like an upside down pineapple cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States