Pineapple Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Don't give a recipe a bad review when you jack it up with your own substitutions!!! I have made this several times as written and they turn out great with requests for the recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melisa Galanti
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I made a few changes. Drained crushed pineapple ( I put in the big can of crushed pineapple ) & baked it in a 13 x 9. It came out really good...dense and moist. You might want to serve warm with vanilla ice cream. Yum. AND I doubled the batch. The picture looks good right? That is the 1st photo I have submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Galanti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I tripled this recipe for a dessert for a Jamaican party. I used 2 -20 oz cans of drained crushed pineapple. I baked it in a very large sheet cake pan. I saved some of the pineapple juice and mixed it with powdered sugar and piped it over the bars like a strudel effect. There were only crumbs left. I agree that vanilla ice cream would be wonderful with the bars, and macadamia nuts might be good in them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I didn't like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I rated this four stars only because I made a few changes: I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup butter; I used vanilla-NOT rum-and with the absence of coconut, used oats. The pineapple was in chunks, so I chopped them smaller to make 2 cups (Resembling more of pineapple bits). Since I made a 9x13” pan, it had to bake 30-50 minutes. It was very moist, very pine-apply (I used Dole), and very yummy! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
really good. I added extra pineapple to make them even chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made this dish for a graduation party and it was a rave! People loved the light, refreshing taste on a warm summer day. I would certainly top it with vanilla bean ice cream next time I serve it in a smaller setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeschu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
It was way too sweet for us. But I used coconut oil and it worked good, just need to reduce the sugar in the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Very good and I will no doubt make this again...I served it with vanilla ice cream, rum sauce, and chopped nuts...next time I will add nuts to the cake batter...macadamia or pecans...Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used fresh pineapple and it was a disaster. Too wet to get out of the pan. So heavy. One fork full was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States