Pineapple Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this because I happened to have some crushed pineapple left over from another recipe. I really liked this! It is more of a cake than what I would consider a bar. I added a little more coconut, a little more pineapple, and added 1 cup of flour rather than 3/4 c. I would make this again if I happened to have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I rated this four stars only because I made a few changes: I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup butter; I used vanilla-NOT rum-and with the absence of coconut, used oats. The pineapple was in chunks, so I chopped them smaller to make 2 cups (Resembling more of pineapple bits). Since I made a 9x13” pan, it had to bake 30-50 minutes. It was very moist, very pine-apply (I used Dole), and very yummy! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
It was way too sweet for us. But I used coconut oil and it worked good, just need to reduce the sugar in the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made this dish for a graduation party and it was a rave! People loved the light, refreshing taste on a warm summer day. I would certainly top it with vanilla bean ice cream next time I serve it in a smaller setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeschu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
very bland...you couldn't really taste the pineapple, and the coconut didn't really stand out either. next time i make this, i will add a little more sugar, as well as coconut...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaundi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used fresh pineapple and it was a disaster. Too wet to get out of the pan. So heavy. One fork full was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I tripled this recipe for a dessert for a Jamaican party. I used 2 -20 oz cans of drained crushed pineapple. I baked it in a very large sheet cake pan. I saved some of the pineapple juice and mixed it with powdered sugar and piped it over the bars like a strudel effect. There were only crumbs left. I agree that vanilla ice cream would be wonderful with the bars, and macadamia nuts might be good in them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Top the warm bar with vanilla ice cream and it makes it all the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melisagal
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I made a few changes. Drained crushed pineapple ( I put in the big can of crushed pineapple ) & baked it in a 13 x 9. It came out really good...dense and moist. You might want to serve warm with vanilla ice cream. Yum. AND I doubled the batch. The picture looks good right? That is the 1st photo I have submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisagal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I didn't like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States