Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found this recipe to be okay. I did have to change it up a bit though. First, I cut up the chicken into bites. Second, I found out at the last minute that I didnt have dry onion soup mix.. im sure it would have tasted better that way. I seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper, onion & garlic powder. I also cut up a green pepper and added it to the simmering mix. Per reviews, I saved the pineapple juice from the can which equaled almost one cup. I added half a cup of water to that and put it in the skillet. Also, I mixed in some low sodium soy sauce. Lastly, I used manadarin oranges. I served this over brown rice. The sauce wasn't thick and I didnt have corn starch to thicken. I basically created an entire new recipe but still used this as my base and cooking times. This was an easy recipe, but the chicken was bland, even with the spices that i added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Not a family favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Horrible! By frying the chicken in the pan until its done, then bringing it to a boil after you add the pineapple, you are cooking it TWICE. Any cook/chef knows that will produce a tough meat. The chicken is like chewing leather!! Marinate it in the pineapple first---but DON'T boil your chicken after you add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Easy and fast to put together with easy on hand ingredients. Was a bit disappointed the citrus "zing" I hoped would jump out at me didn't--so be ready for that, should you follow per directions. Other reviewers offer up some really ingenious tasty zip up ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mfitzpatrick
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I also did some changes from the original recipe. I added soy sauce and used the juice from the pineapples then added brown sugar and flour to thicken the sauce. It was real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfitzpatrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I had some left over fresh pineapple, so I used that. My husband loved this. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Great starter recipe. I had only 2 whole breasts and 4 thighs. I followed some of the other suggestions, cut down on the water and used the juice from the can of pineapple. I eliminated the dry onion soup because that would be too salty for such a small amount of chicken. I used 1/4 c. chopped onion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have onion soup mix so I used what I had miso soup mix and it work very well. I used reviewers suggestions and added T soy sauce and T of brown sugar. I also add a T of four to my chicken and stir fried it with Seasame oil with garlic and onion for about 5 mins (its just my preference -I like browning my "meats"). The poured the liquid (I used the juice from the pineapple which was about 1/2 C -that was enough because I use 3 skinless boneless thighs (again just a preference; i prefer dark meat) and simmer for 20 mins. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I really enjoyed this meal, but my husband was just so-so about it. I would make it again and I think it is a great dish to make. I had frozen pineapple, so I added frozen pineapple at the end, but used orange juice in the mix. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe:) I cut up the chicken and browned it in a skillet but then transferred it to a crock pot with the pineapple undrained and both pckts of soup mix.I put it on low till my husband and daughter were ready to eat, which was probably 4 -6 hours. He works days and I work second shift so that's why I did it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States