Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
i played around quite a bit with this. I started off with the basic recipe, then added soy sauce, garlic, brown sugar in different amounts until it was a thicker consistency and tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
my boyfriend and i really enjoy this easy meal. i use all the ingrediants except just 1 cup of water and cube my chicken. i use flour to brown it also. i add frozen broccoli, soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic salt. and serve it with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Edible but would not make again. It was really watery and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I only had three breasts so I adjusted the recipe. I had a 20 oz can of pineapple so I used 3/4 of that can and substituted 1 cup pineapple juice for the 2 cups water--and used only 2 tbsp of the onion soup mixture. In reading about the blandness, I sprinkled the chicken with garlic powder and black pepper as well. I also chunked up my chicken to speed up the cooking time. At the end I added a flour/water mixture to thicken it up and glaze everything. The result was two very full children and a very happy husband! Thanks for a great quick weeknight meal! Next time I will use a little more water and serve the sauce over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a hit at our place! I didn't have onion soup mix on hand, so I just used a tablespoon or so of onion gravy granules. I mixed the sauce in a separate bowl and let it simmer to thicken before I added it to my chicken. Then I poured it over and let it cook just a bit to mix the flavors. I also added a clove of chopped garlic. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish. Very simple and very flavorful. I loved the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Very Very Good!!I followed the other reviewers suggestions and this is what I came up with. I used 1 can of pinapple juice, 2 heaping tablespoons of brown sugar, and a few dashes of 50% sodium soy sauce, I brought that to a boil in a sauce pan, then simmered untill it thickend. I seasoned my chicken with grillmates monterey chicken, lightly browned it in a skillet. then transfered to baking dish, added the pineapple chunks and basted it with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I had to add some soy sauce to add some color and was tempted to add brown sugar but decided not to. I also used the pineapple juice and water to get to the 2 cups. I think that helped with the flavor. It was nice to try but not sure I'll be doing in again unless I revamp it a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Odd combination, but it is quite good. Next time I would use less onion soup mix because it seemed to overpower the pineapple. If I make it again, I will be making the suggested adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldanelis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shuniah, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Nice flavor, golden brown chicken. I didn't use oranges and they were not missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States