Pineapple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is a nice recipe. After reading previous reviews about the cake's heavy texture, I beat my eggs for about 4 minutes until they were thickened, and added 1 tsp. baking powder in addition to the soda; the resulting texture was fluffy and very moist. I reduced the sugar a bit, but next time I'll use the full amount. I would recommend adding a teaspoon of vanilla, and also a tablespoon or two of lemon juice to brighten up the pineapple flavor. A keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a good home-made cake, but the original recipe is a little odd. It needs some adjustments, I read all the reviews and follow some sugestions which help me on the good results. It come out delicious! I brought this cake to a family reunion and everyone loves it. In my opinion it just needs 1 cup of sugar,and 1/2 cup of oil. I added 1tsp. of baking powder, 1 tblsp of lemon juice, and 1tsp. of vanilla extract. It only need 20 minutes to cook in the oven, not 45 minutes. I omited the nuts. In the iceing I only put 1/2 of cup of confectioners sugar and it was perfectly sweet. I did this changes and we had an absolutely delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This pineapple cake is amazing! I used 1/2 cup of less of the sugar and I had a fresh pineapple that I had to use up so I just added 1/2 cup of milk to make up for the canned liquid! I didnt even frost it is that good! Frosting would make it even extra amazing! Very moist and very good flavour! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
VERY GOOD! it was so moist and sweet although i did change some things! i used half the sugar and it was still very sweet! i used brown sugar, too. i didn't have any eggs so i just put in some yogurt and surprisingly turned out great! i used about 1/4 cup of oil insttead of 3/4 cup. i added some vanilla, too! i put in a little soy milk, too. DELICIOUS! i took it out of the oven at the right time but it wasn't all the way cooked. it was mushy a little in the middle but it made it more moist and it was fabulous! i didn't have cream cheese so i just glazed some cool whip over it! it was great and sweet and moist and i added some pineapple on top for decoration! YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake_luv

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is a quick and easy cake. It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Instead of frosting, I sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top - very heavy - and add plenty of ground ginger and cinnamon in cake - soak raisins in with the pineapple & juice - lots of pecans - this is turning in to "Austin Cake"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Make this very tasty cake the day before you plan to serve it to let the flavor develop. Next time I'll reduce the butter in the icing so it will not be sooo soft. Try it. You'll like it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This cake was delish! I skipped the nuts and halved the sugar. I used sour cream frosting that was super sweet that worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sumoplus001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I really appreciate that you shared this recipe! I made this cake for two weddings and the guests loved it at both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I used this cake as a base for pina colada cupcakes. Based on other reviews I added 1 tsp baking powder. I left out the nuts, and I drained the pineapple then only added half of the juice because I wanted to use a rum glaze so I didn't want the cake to be too wet. It turned out fantastic - I actually liked the cupcakes better without the coconut frosting I made; they were very moist and pineapple-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States