Pineapple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I wasn't impressed with this cake, I felt it was way too sweet and a bit heavy. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I rated this 4 as written but a 5 after doing some adjustments...I made as written then I wanted like a Mock Upsidedown Pineapple cake, so I melted 4 tbls butter with a 1/4 of brown sugar until dissolved then poked holes in the cake and spread over the top of cake, cooled then topped with halved Marichino cherries, then topped with Pineapple Cream Cheese Frosting..was a big hit with the Hubby, since he LOVES pineapple upside down cake. Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Novotny-Metott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made this for a birthday treat at work. Everyone really liked it and I was asked for the recipe. Very easy to make and the frosting was yummy too. I usually put margarine in my frosting, but butter is just so much better. It's a heavy cake, but I like that texture. You can tell it's home made vs. a box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was the perfect cake for what I was looking for. I made this cake with fresh pineapple and added 1/3 cup of milk and halved the sugar which was suggested by another reviewer. Came out excellent! I would also recommend serving it as pineapple bars opposed to cake since it is very thick and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I`ve been baking this cake for years and it is best when you put the frosting on while the cake is hot.yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This cake was very good. It wasn't quite as 'wet' as I was expecting, but nice and moist. I only made 1/2 the icing and that was really enough to cover the top of the cake (still in the pan) evenly with a nice coating to lend a sweet tangy contrast to the cake. I liked that I didn't have to drag out my mixer to make a delicious cake. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Phenomenal cake! Every week I bring a cake to an outdoor concert and I ask for suggestions for the following week. Someone said they would love something pineapple...so I looked and found this one. Followed the directions exactly as written, but added some cherry extract and juice to the icing. Decorated it with halved cherries. Rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made this cake tonight and it turned out great. I used half the sugar because I figured the pineapple juice would more than make up for it. I also had to use one less egg than was called for (looked in the carton and one was broken) and it turned out just fine. All I had on hand was chunk pineapple which made it a little difficult to test doneness but you can test it with your fingers to check for spring back. As other users have mentioned it is good without the frosting, which I didn't make, and is plenty sweet on its own. All in all a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wendell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is a nice recipe. After reading previous reviews about the cake's heavy texture, I beat my eggs for about 4 minutes until they were thickened, and added 1 tsp. baking powder in addition to the soda; the resulting texture was fluffy and very moist. I reduced the sugar a bit, but next time I'll use the full amount. I would recommend adding a teaspoon of vanilla, and also a tablespoon or two of lemon juice to brighten up the pineapple flavor. A keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Was a great hit, I made it into a double layer cake, was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeralaina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States