Pineapple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I followed "campagnes" recommendations and it was perfect! My only issue would be that this cake really stuck to the pan... I mean it really got stuck I almost lost the cake! I did use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, so maybe that's why? But anyway, I had to use a spatula to loosen the cake. So be sure to really grease your pan! Other than that it was amazing! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shuggie88

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This cake was delicious! I made some minor changes, such as reducing the sugar to 1 & 3/4 cups, 1/2 cup oil and a splash of vanilla. Most importantly, I replaced the nuts with about 1 & 1/2 cups coconut, making it more of a hummingbird cake. I baked it for about 30 minutes, until golden brown, then frosted it with the recommended frosting, but halved the butter and cream cheese and added 3/4 cup coconut. I highly recommend this cake! It will be great in the summer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Its a great recipe for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaRosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My husband is beside himself with this cake. He ate half of it while it was still warm. I have never made anything for him in 12 years that has gotten this reaction. I used the frosting from Lick Your Lips Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Make this very tasty cake the day before you plan to serve it to let the flavor develop. Next time I'll reduce the butter in the icing so it will not be sooo soft. Try it. You'll like it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I used 1 1/2 cups sugar and only 1/2 cup oil. Instead of frosting it I toasted about 1 1/2 cups of coconut and stirred it into the cake batter. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I used this cake as a base for pina colada cupcakes. Based on other reviews I added 1 tsp baking powder. I left out the nuts, and I drained the pineapple then only added half of the juice because I wanted to use a rum glaze so I didn't want the cake to be too wet. It turned out fantastic - I actually liked the cupcakes better without the coconut frosting I made; they were very moist and pineapple-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I did not have any nuts so made it without it. I did not have crushed pineapple so I used tidbits which was a smaller can but the cake turned out great. I had to cook it a little longer than indicated. I added cocunut to the top of the icing. It was yummie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a good home-made cake, but the original recipe is a little odd. It needs some adjustments, I read all the reviews and follow some sugestions which help me on the good results. It come out delicious! I brought this cake to a family reunion and everyone loves it. In my opinion it just needs 1 cup of sugar,and 1/2 cup of oil. I added 1tsp. of baking powder, 1 tblsp of lemon juice, and 1tsp. of vanilla extract. It only need 20 minutes to cook in the oven, not 45 minutes. I omited the nuts. In the iceing I only put 1/2 of cup of confectioners sugar and it was perfectly sweet. I did this changes and we had an absolutely delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I wasn't impressed with this cake, I felt it was way too sweet and a bit heavy. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States