Pineapple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was great - the pineapple added a yummy twist we all enjoyed. I didn't have time to toast the bread, so I omitted that step. Also, I found this recipe loaded with oil and sugar. I cut the oil to 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup milk to the bread instead. Then, I cut the sugar to 2/3 cup, which was more than enough. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I can't believe the respone I got to this recipe. My family loved this! !! I made it this morning for Thanksgiving Dinner tonight. It was super easy and super quick. I love bread pudding so I was excited to try something a little different. I made 1 1/2 times the quanity of ingredients, I also added about 1/4 cup or so of heavy cream. After 35 mintues it was not really brown or bubbling, so cooked it 15 min more. The middle was still soggy. I ended up cooking it about 1 hour and 10 min. My family raved so much about this I will be taking it to my Christmas Potluck lunch next month at work and of course making it for all my aunts, uncles, and cousins again on Christmas because they couldn't get enough!!! Thank you for a great new holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I took this to a Mardi Gras dinner and it was a big hit! After I toasted the bread I removed some of the crust. It fit into a 7 1/2x11 glass pan perfectly. I did cook it for a little while longer, though. Cooked uncovered towards the end. I served this with a squirt of canned whipped cream. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I really liked this and it was very easy to make. I took the advice of other reviewers and decreased to 1/2 cup margarine and 3/4 cup sugar. I used french bread (without the bottom crust) cuz that's what I had. Took about 50-55 minutes of baking on the middle rack before turning bubbly and golden. It was delicious & just sweet enough to allow for that dollop of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeesFan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I've made this so many times I think I can do it in my sleep. We are great fans of the recipe as written but on occasion I've used half granulated sugar and half brown sugar, tossed in coconut for a little variance added raisins and no raisins, and if my hubs knows this is for dessert, I assure you it will not serve 8! This is his alltime, bar-none, favorite recipe from this site. Big, big thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I made it exactly as listed and then added chopped pecans, which provided a wonderful texture, as well as flavor. The pudding reminded me of a pineapple upside-down cake. Will definitely make again, but will reduce butter and sugar each by a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trishie
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was delicious! I could not get crushed pineapple so I drained a can of chunks and put them in the blender to "crush" them. I had to cook it for longer and I increased the temp to 400*F for that extra 10 mins and I left it uncovered for the extra 10 mins too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trishie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I took this to Thanksgiving dinner at a friend's house and it got stellar reviews. I assembled it the night before then baked it just 30 minutes (or maybe a little more...it got kinda crazy during the last minute prep!). I used craisins and they added just enough of a zing to balance the sweetness of everything else. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as it was written. I first must say, I'm not a big fan of Pineapple and asked for recipes on the Buzz to use a Fresh Pineapple. Since we love bread pudding, when someone recommended this, I thought, what the heck...I'll give it try. The photo I uploaded; well, it was the last piece. Yeah, we like it that much! I topped with chopped walnuts, not whipped cream due to intolerance. Fabulous warm, and good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
it was delicious.i used 4 eggs and 1/2 cup sugar was enough for me,and used 5 slices pineapple,chopped them finely,and also 1 stick of butter was ok.it turned out wonderful.thx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States