Pineapple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I served this with whipped cream on the side for a potluck, and everyone loved it! I was sad there were no leftovers :( I agree that the sugar and butter can be lowered a bit. I didn't have any vanilla extract on hand, so used almond extract instead, which was delicious! Also, I added unsweetened coconut flakes for a tropical twist. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This bread pudding is delicious!! I used wheat bread, 12 slices to fill up the 9x13 glass dish I used. I did not toast the bread because I didn't have time. I took advice from some of the other reviews and decreased the butter (to 1/2 cup) and sugar (to 3/4 cup). It was the perfect sweetness, but I think I should have used at least 3/4 cup of butter and maybe 1 more egg. The wheat bread I used was bigger slices than traditional white bread. It was not as moist as I would have liked, but that was just because of my changes. I was worried about using wheat bread, but it was still awesome!! I will definitely make this again. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petunia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lorrainemckeon
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
i just made this and it's delicious! but i altered it as follows: only used 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter and a 1/4 cup whole milk in place of the 3/4 c butter AND i cut the sugar in half and used a 1/4 cup blue agave nectar- i think that added a bit more moisture, plus it takes less to be just as sweet as sugar but has a lower glycemic impact than sugar. OH! and i also only had three eggs on hand, so i used them and hoped for the best... and it came out fine! so all around i guess i made it a bit healthier but just as tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Instead of putting the bread in the oven, I cut it in cubes and let it sit out in a bowl uncovered for a day. As others suggested, I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and the butter to 1/2 cup. I mixed the butter in with the egg mixture, along with half of the cinnamon, and sprinkled the rest of the cinnamon on top. I baked it uncovered for 45 minutes. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! I used some leftover bakery rolls, and because it didn't seem like enough bread as called for in the recipe, I used only 4 eggs, decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and 1/2 cup of butter. Only had an 8oz. can of crushed pineapple and golden raisins on hand. Turned out wonderful! This is a keeper! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I had some King's Hawaiian rolls and shredded coconut left after holiday meals and baking, and I wanted to create a Hawaiian-style bread pudding. Came across this recipe and used it as a great foundation. Based on the number of rolls I had (8) and the number of servings I wanted to make (4), I scaled this recipe in 1/2, but used the whole can of crushed pineapple. I also cut the sugar in 1/2 (after scaling) and omitted the currants/raisins because I added about a cup of shredded coconut and about 1/2 cup of pecan pieces, both of which I toasted slightly (of course, macadamia nuts would have been more Hawaiian, but I didn't have any on hand - will definitely use next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good! Quite easy to make, too. I didn't notice that the recipe instructed to drain the pineapple. I just dumped in the whole can, as is. It didn't seem to matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Excellent. I used blueberries instead of rasins and it turned out fantastic. Blueberries and Pineapple made a great combination. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I tried this today to use the hardened french loaf that I had forgot about on the counter...and it turned out fantastic! I did cut back on the sugar though but still found it to be plenty sweet. I did not have crushed pineapple so I used a can of chunk pineapple. It looked very nice but the chucks were so much hotter than the rest of the dish and took a while to cool off that I would recommend against this. Thanks for sharing this...I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is such a big hit every time I make it. I make it for almost every lunch or dinner that I host because I'm requested especially to make it every time! I use fresh pineapple chopped in to little pieces and it turns out fabulous. The last time I was out of pineapple I made it with apples. Still turned out amazing although pineapples really make it special. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States